We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

La Olla Mexican Cafe
Ranked #71 of 2,003 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went there based on other TA reviews, these people must have never eaten real Mexican food. Bland with no spice or flavor at all. I should have known better when I walked in and there were no Hispanic people eating or working there, and full of little kids eating. Mexican food for people that don't like anything spicy or hot at all

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    29
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent every time we go”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been here not less than 20 times. They have excellent food served by a young, friendly staff. The home made desserts are to die-for. The atmosphere is simple, but fun. While the serving sizes are a little small, the price is pretty fair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe it took us this long to discover La Olla. Granted, they are tucked away in Continental Ranch and easily missed, but well worth searching for. The food was absolutely amazing. The chicken tacos were delicious. Chicken was moist and cooked to perfection. The calabacitas were the best ever and the beans just right. The apple moonshine margarita was a pleasant surprise. Like apple pie in a glass. What's not to love? We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tucsonrunnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Refreshing Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is far and away the best Mexican restaurant in a city full of Mexican restaurants! We sampled lots of things from the relatively small menu of totally homemade items and every one was exquisite. The Chorizo Fundido was full of wonderful substance and great flavors. The Chipotle Shrimp and Pork was perfectly cooked and the sauce was delicious. Their margaritas are good and reasonably priced -- and be sure to save room for dessert! I'm not sure what they called it, but we had a Blueberry Cinnamon Cheese deep-fried something-or-other served with vanilla ice cream -- and it was worth waddling all the home!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrprkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Casual with food that seems upscale!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here probably every couple months since 2011. The waitresses are friendly and are very good at remembering diners! I hadn't been there in a month or so and the waitress asked if I wanted to put in an order for my husband to take home with me! Very cool people.

It's definitely a big hit in the Continental Reserve and Ranch area. I've run into neighbors and friends, some of which travel 20 minutes to get here. The owners typically have their kids there after school, but they are cute and well behaved. My family from out of town request to eat here every time they're visiting. Great atmosphere for dates or bringing the family. It's not a very big restaurnt so if you like a quiet atmosphere it's not a good choice on the weekend or in the evening. This place is typically busy every day (closed Sundays and for all holidays) around lunch time and 6-8pm.

Though the food is Mexican, it varies from most other mexican restaurants. A great variety with all the typical items you associate with Mexican restaurants, just made perfectly. They are able to accomadate diners and adjust orders to specifications. The Sonoran dogs are amazing (hotdog wrapped in bacon with tons of Mexican toppings), the La Olla wrap is another great meal. The meats and sides are always cooked properly. The calabacitas (Mexican zucchini like squash with tomato and corn in a cheesy sauces) are addictive!! My mom asked the waitress what's in it and the owner came out and told my mom the entire recipe so she could make it at home. How awesome is that?!

I have never had anything there that wasn't delicious. They have unique dessert choices that are made fresh. Sometimes they sauces can vary, depending who is making them that day. The husband owner makes his sauces spicier than the wife. The portions are generous and the chips and salsa are always super fresh. My husband loves the margaritas there too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Olla Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing