We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of THE Best!”
Review of It's Greek to Me

It's Greek to Me
Ranked #43 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Daytime Deli and Dinnertime Dining! Lunch menu Friday and Saturday from 11AM to 3PM. As always, our award winning dinners made from fresh ingredients are available after 4 PM 7 days a week!
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of THE Best!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you don't mind driving a little north of Tucson to Catalina (not very far at all) you're in for a Greek food delight. This small restaurant has such ambience you'll fall in love with it as soon as you enter.... and the food, well, it's some of the very best Greek food you'll get within miles of Tucson. Everything is fresh and flavorful and cooked to perfection. And you just have to order the Tiri Saganaki, which is an absolutely scrumptious cheese-sautéed-and-brandy-flambéed appetizer, served with warm pita bread. My lunch was Spanakopita served with a fresh Greek salad - the very best I've ever had, and if you have room for dessert you simply can't leave without having a slice of their homemade Baklava. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive and we'll certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    47
    6
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
burbank, ca
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good food, technically in Catalina, not Tucson”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place is a trek from Tucson. That said, the food is very good and I have eaten there on four occasions in the past year, all for dinner. The octopus is wonderful. As is the spinach spanakopita. The staff and owner, Jimmy, are very accommodating and friendly. The prices are in line with the quality and serving sizes. The room has that Greek restaurant look to it. The only thing you should know going in is that the restaurant is near a large retirement community and as such the average age of customer skews over 60. I would not bring kids there and I usually feel a bit out of place myself. Definitely not a date place for anyone under 50. Worth visiting if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burbankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and friendly service.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We all had gyros and they were very filling and delicious. The tzatziki and pita was a great side dish as well. Great place to eat on the way back to Tucson from Biosphere 2.

Helpful?
Thank LiveLifeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Yes, this is real Greek food but it's far from the best I've had. The calamari was excellent but our main dishes off. The lamb shanks had little flavor. The restaurant is in a shopping center and inside it is kind of basic. The servers were friendly and attentive. A mixed bag but we were hoping for better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent Chicken”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I just love chicken kabobs and the ones at It's Greek to Me are ALWAYS delicious. Tender chicken breasts grilled to perfection. The rice and pita bread complement the entree just fine. We're not wine drinkers but the iced tea and lemonade were great!!

We'll go again soon because we know it will always be the same.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonMorris2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Greek to Me also viewed

 

Been to It's Greek to Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing