We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place with excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of It's Greek to Me

It's Greek to Me
15920 Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85739
+1 520-825-4199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,911 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Daytime Deli and Dinnertime Dining! The best house made deli meats available all day. Smoked Pastrami, Corned Beef, Lamb, Roast Beef and Turkey fresh roasted in house with the finest hormone and preservative meats. Imported cured meats and delicious cheeses. Deli sandwiches and part trays! Lunch menu from 11AM to 3PM. As always, our award winning dinners made from fresh ingredients are available after 4 PM.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great little place with excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I go to It's Greek to Me every time I visit Tucson. It is a little, quiet, wonderful restaurant tucked away in a strip mall in Catalina. The food is consistently excellent and their service is great. They have a good selection of very good Greek wines. I recommend calling for reservations on a weekend for lunch or dinner or if you have a larger group. If you have a birthday or special occasion be sure to let your server know and you will get a piece of delicious yogurt cake. :-) The owner, George, is very friendly and was able to tell me what is gluten free on the menu in addition to asking if there was a special occasion when I called for our reservation. When I told him we had 2 birthdays in our group, he said he would bake a cake for them! Their seafood special was salmon and it was the best I have had, spiced and cooked perfectly. Their gyros and Greek salad are both excellent and all portions are very generous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    44
    6
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The restaurant is top of line food and good service. Been there many times and will continue to go! The rice pudding is to die for as well as the Gyro plate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place - Try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Located in Catalina AZ, just follow AZ 77 N toward Oracle and stop at the first sign of life in Catalina. What a blessing to find this place in the middle of nowhere. The chef is the owner and he is one funny and friendly guy. I think his family helps runs the place and we have been there 3 times in the past month. I tried the Gyro plate the first time and brought home half of it. My husband loves the hummus and home-made yogurt tzatziki sauce. He eats the vegetarian menu items and I eat the meat dishes! We always order the greek salad without the feta and have had the house red wine and never left hungry or upset about the service. Outstanding! Love the atmosphere there and the paintings on the walls are works of art. I know this sounds cheeky but Kudos for this place that will become our regular place when we're hungry, want great service and food for outstanding prices. Well Done!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MuppetExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You'd think you were in Greece...George is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Food is super tasty...George uses great suppliers for super fresh supplies. Everyone we eat with here always raves about their meal and swears whatever they had is the best meal on the menu or fresh specials! Food and atmosphere are very authentic even though you will see the locals in their jeans and cowboy hats. Love going here because everything is lays good...I'm a bit of a picky eater and always have plenty to choose from. No stairs or multiple-floors and large bathroom make it easy access. Have some wine...the servers will sample you a couple if you are not sure what you want.. And be sure to save room for the honey cake...it is fabulous and often hot out of he oven ( it doesn't hurt to order it when you order main dish so thy don't run out!). North of central Tucson up past Oro Valley in Catalina across parking lot from The Golden Goose thrift shop on Oracle Rd. sits back from main highway in strip mall...you ay think you re in the wrong area for great Greek food when you drive up, but you won't think so when you leave!

Helpful?
1 Thank BeachdaddyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Santorino can wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

For an authentic Greek food experience, travel no further than this gem tucked away in Catalina,AZ. The food is consistently excellent; the servers friendly and efficient.
Last night, we had delightful early evening meal. George, the owner, treated us to an appetizer plate of house made tzatziki and hummus served with warm pita bread. The fresh fish, mahi mahi,was grilled to perfection. The lamb shank, a must have, was yummy as always. The fourth entree, a large rib-eye steak was also grilled just right.
Although we were on our way to an early movie and couldn't linger over dessert, the four of us know we will be back to enjoy this little piece of the Greek Isles in the desert.

Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona2togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed It's Greek to Me also viewed

 

Been to It's Greek to Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing