We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's really in Catalina AZ - VERY GOOD!”
Review of It's Greek to Me

It's Greek to Me
Ranked #46 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Daytime Deli and Dinnertime Dining! Lunch menu Friday and Saturday from 11AM to 3PM. As always, our award winning dinners made from fresh ingredients are available after 4 PM 7 days a week!
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's really in Catalina AZ - VERY GOOD!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is on North Oracle, in Catalina, AZ (about 16 miles north of Tucson). Small place, very intersting decorations (realistic paintings on the walls and ceilings). Excellent, attentive and prompt service. The owner/chef comes out to see how you are, recommend dishes, then checks to see how you like what he cooked for you. Had the Lamb Shank - very good and certainly plenty of foor. My wife had the fisherman's stew - that was truly excellent. They recommended a Greek white wine (I know nothing about Greek wines), which turned out to be excellent. They let you savor small tastest of the Greek wines before you decide, which is very helpful. For a different (=Greek!) dinner outing, this place is highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OpaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    48
    6
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Dined twice at the new(er) location of "It's Greek to Me", on Oracle Road out in Catalina (Hi-way 77). The food was excellent. The Lamb Shank is more than I could eat, and what was left over was almost as good the next day at home. Took some old friends, there about 4 days later, and the food was great AGAIN. Greek Taverna atmosphere, with good service, and even some good Greek beers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmva1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Athens is in Catalina!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's Greek to Me should be named, "Little Athens in Catalina" because the food is authentic greek and representational of a taverna you would find in Greece. My fiance is Greek and we have travelled extensively all over Greece and the islands and this restaurant stands with the best we have found in Greece. George, the colorful gracious entertaining owner, does the cooking and socializing, making this a very entertaining experience. George's calamari is the best in Tucson, really up there with the best we have had all over the world, very light and tender, and his grilled lamp chops are scrumptious. The combo appetizer is delicious, and the roasted red pepper stuffed with cheeses will make you sing, it truly is delectable. His spanakopita is outstanding. Everything we have had on the menu has been delicious. He is a talented chef, and has a friendly accommodating staff. The desserts are also excellent, with unique desserts of the day. Also, the interior has beautiful hand painted murals of Greece. When you are inside it's hard to remember you are in Catalina, AZ because the wine, food, atmosphere, transports you to Greece. Efharisto George! - All the best - CIndy

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CinziaChiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very special Greek bistro”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We've dined at It's Greek to Me many times, and count ourselves to be very big fans of George, the Proprietor/Chef.
The food is consistently wholesome, fresh, tasty, and beautifully presented by an excellent staff.
The prices are reasonable; the portions large.
George escapes from the kitchen from time to time to visit the dining rooms for a look-see. He can't help but be pleased with his usual full house!
Larry

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It's Great to Me!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We love the Greek food at Athens on 4th in Tucson and heard that the same family opened a second restaurant in the northern burbs, not far from us. We thought we'd give it a try on Saturday night and assumed we could get a table without a reservation. Were we wrong! Even folks with reservations waited for a table. Our estimated 20-minute wait took nearly an hour but we received a complimentary glass of wine while we stood in the tiny entry (more seating here would be nice). Hint: the inexpensive house red wine is delicious; the native Greek grape tastes a bit like pinot noir.

The wait was worth it. After enjoying saganaki, flamed tableside (opa!) and served with hot freshly grilled pita pieces, we decided to have seafood dishes for dinner although we already were familiar with and LOVE the Colorado lamb shank on the menu from Athens on 4th. I had the prawns sauteed with garlic and red peppers served on rice; a fragrant dish of huge prawns that was deceptively rich. My husband enjoyed a special seafood stew of prawns, mussels, calimari and wild Canadian salmon in a marinara sauce. Our server was friendly and attentive despite obviously being overworked. They definitely needed more staff that evening; the hosts multi-tasked, clearing and setting tables and serving wine, in addition to diplomatically dealing with the hoards of folks coming in the door every few minutes.

We realized that if we had arrived later in the evening it likely would have been easier to be seated. The restaurant is located near a large retirement community whose residents tend to dine early. In fact, there were several large tables of boisterous seniors filling the place and most of them had departed by the time we received our entrees.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to It's Greek to Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing