We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Tucson”
Review of Jax Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jax Kitchen
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best value in Tucson”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This restaurant not only had outstanding food at a reasonable price but the staff and service were well above expectations. Ideal for a couples night ou

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service in "looks may be deceiving" strip mall storefront”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding Food & Service do not require a fancy stand alone location. Jax Kitchen instead focuses on creating unique, flavorful & inspiring entrees & appetizers accompanied by excellent and intimate service. I had the duck dish with four components that made for a flavorful and nicely complementary dinner; while my wife had the outstanding fish of the day ensemble.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not as happy as last time”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Jax and the first time we were very pleased. This time, not so much. The salad was a lovely mix of greens, figs and nuts but it was overdressed. The crispy salmon was good, but the butternut risotto had some sort of fatty pork in it which made it very heavy. My husband enjoyed his pork chops. A nice, different wine list. The pour size was a little skimpy. The dinner portions were so large, we didn't have room for dessert. Our server did a good job. Decent prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank yellowlabmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Place to go anytime...but make a reservation!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is EXCELLENT, but before you decide to drop by, pick up the phone and make a phone call because this place is sooo popular you are lucky to get a table, unless you don't mind sitting at the bar....which is a very nice bar. Jax has great appetizers, like the Chef's Board which will have a combo of cheeses, prosciutto, fresh jam and tasty toasted nuts and bread, or maybe you'd rather the fried artichokes...incredible! Then go for the porterhouse style pork chops yum! Or fresh fish, everything here is served with passion and great wine pairings, just ask for suggestions, they will happily give them to you. Great happy hour too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria44Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Modern Comfort food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Somewhat of a limited menu, but the items they do have make up for it. I would consider this modern American cuisine. The restaurant itself is small and very noisy, but still seems to have some intimacy. Our waitress did brag up the red velvet cake for dessert, and I thought it was just ok.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaboDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing