We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Tucson's Best”
Review of Jax Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jax Kitchen
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of Tucson's Best”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Every time I come to this restaurant, I am blown away by the entire experience. The food is excellently prepared, the drink options are extensive and the service is wonderful. I've had most items on their menu and every single one has been delicious.

If it is still on the menu when you visit, I highly recommend the pork "porterhouse" with the IPA pan sauce and the red velvet cake.

If you're looking for a great place to eat in Tucson, especially if you're on the northwest side, you have to check Jax Kitchen out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    25
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The service at Jax is absolutely the best! Impeccable! Taylor leads an all-star team that includes: Ricky, Katie, Justin, Emily and Stephen! My favorites are the salad wedge, pork chop, burger, chicken, fries and don't leave out the red velvet cake. A great wine list and absolutely the best infused cocktails in the southwest. A really upbeat and hip place for an evening out in Tucson!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a wonderful restaurant! The appetizer was the Slate Plate which is a piece of slate with cheeses, Salami, and garnishes that are an excellent combination and enough for Two. On Sundays, wines are half price so you can try some more expensive wines without ruining you pocketbook. Whether it's chicken, steak or fish, every meal we have had there has been great. They also have a Burger that is one of the best in town. Reservations aren't necessary but they are always packed full so you're taking you chances without one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petersjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“trendy and chic”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A great little find on Oracle road. Easy to get too and a pleasant surprise. Food was good, unusual fare and a posh setting. Fun place to meet up with friends for a nice evening out.

Helpful?
Thank Loomin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jax Kitchen has ups and downs, but mostly ups!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Jax Kitchen has a nice selection of wines, but their cocktails should not be overlooked. My man loves the Manahattan, made deliciously and expertly by Ricky, but my favorite is the Raspberry Gimlet. My drink preference is vodka, so this is right up my alley, and so refreshing! Complimentary potato chips wirh celery salt were welcome and tasty. We've had the crab deviled eggs twice, and they are exquisite. Last night, I ordered the Kobe hamburger, and due to dietary reasons, avoided the bun and the fries. This beef was spectacular! Amazing flavors! Partner had the salmon, and loved it. He asked that it be prepared on the rare side, and it came perfectly cooked, to his expectations. He raved about the wild mushroom risotto. Yum. We avoided desert last night, but the experience was unforgettable, despite an overly present busser. Our last visit was marred by a horribly fatty ribeye. It was expensive and inedible. We were accomodated with a half price reduction in our bill. Don't order the ribeye, unless you"re feeling lucky. There seems to be no QC on this dish. Regardless, I would heartily recommend this restaurant. They have a good concept, good cooking skills, and a good attitude. You do need reservations - they are small and popular.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing