We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Inn Tucson
Nearby Hotels
$100
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson Airport(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$84
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$169
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$75
$68
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$112
$97
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
69
96
31
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
96
31
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastwoman traveling alonean extra nightroom was cleannice tvfridge and microwavewifi worked wellwalking distanceplenty of hot waterstayed here for one nightwould stay here againtwo double bedsfront officefamily weekendyogurteasy accesswater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 208 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for somthing cheep and cheerful near to the university and this fit the bill nicley. The staff were helpful, the room was clean and spacious and we got a good nights sleep. The only down side was that the Wi-Fi was virtually unusable and the aircon was old and noisy. Overall though it was a good little motel and great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelersVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear HappyTravelersVR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you found our rooms to be very comfortable and clean. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you had with the wireless internet and the air conditioner. We are already making improvements to our wireless internet to make it more secure and faster for our guests. The air conditioners that we have are nearly the same in all the rooms, but we will take a look at them to see if any of them need to be replaced due to the concern you expressed. However, I am glad we provided you value with our clean and comfortable rooms, and that your overall experience was great. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there one night. Room/bathroom was clean and the mattress was decent. Lives up to its reviews. Good proximity to the University, 4th Ave and downtown The area is not in the best part of town, there were some transients passing by on Stone but I never felt unsafe. Pool was well maintained The manager Henry is very friendly and helpful. There were some issues with their internet having slow connectivity. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear dwingo,

Thank you for reviewing our Inn. I am happy knowing you found our bed and room to be comfortable and clean. Our location is central so we have lots of fun things to do around. Since we are close to downtown and the University of Arizona, we have people from all walks of life. We have been running this Inn for the past 20+ years and have always had a focus on safety insuring our guests feel safe and comfortable. We do have a wonderful pool, which is nice to cool down in during the hot summer days. I am happy to hear you had a great customer service experience. I am glad you brought up the internet concern. We have consistently been working with our internet to make it faster and more secure. We have just ordered new signal boosters to provide even a greater signal into the rooms. By the next time you visit us again we should have them up and running. I am happy to hear you had a good experience staying at our Inn and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit us!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Given the amenities, it's hard to call this a budget motel. Though the breakfast was minimal, it still was more than I expected given the rate of $45/night.

The bed was good, the shower clean, the AC worked well, and the location seemed safe.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear massiek,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am pleased knowing your stay went well. Indeed, we do have a lot of amenities for the price that you pay, which is why we focus on value, value, and value. Glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and the room clean. I am so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed there may 8-10. It truely lived up to reviews on tripadvisor. It was inexpensive. The room was clean . I walked to the university twice and to 4th ave shops once. The continental breakfast was good and included rolls, fruit and coffee. The freeway was easily accessed. Stone steet was noisy at times but seemed to quiet down at night. The pool was on the small side.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sea-mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear sea-mike,

Thank you for taking your time writing a review about our Inn. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant experience staying at our Inn. As you know, we pride ourselves in the quality of our rooms and the price that we charge so it's great to hear you found them to be clean and inexpensive. Our location is indeed beneficial due to the closeness to downtown, the University of Arizona, and the popular shopping, bar, and restaurant district, 4th Avenue. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Since we are next to two main streets there is the typical noise from the street during the day, but just like you had mentioned they do get quiet during the evening time. Thank you for all your comments and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location (quiet area between University and downtown). University Inn is an modest economy motel in an older building. Driving up, it is not impressive to look at. Usually, this is a formula for a bad experience. Not the case here- very clean and quiet with a comfortable bed and regular TV (non-flat screen). Refrigerator and microwave... a pool but it looks a bit lame. AC worked great. Bathroom dated but in good condition and very clean. Room was fair sized.

The closest thing to a complaint is that the breakfast is pretty bad and coffee very bad.

If staying here, be sure to go to nearby 4th Ave, area called "Pie Allen". It is walking distance (maybe 10 blocks away) or you can drive there - plenty of free parking. This seems like the strip for student nightlife and cheap eats.

I have paid a whole lot more than $61 (including taxes) and gotten a whole lot less. University Inn is 100% value. I would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear DGeig,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the cleanliness and comfortable rooms. We did upgrade our AC thermostats so that is great to hear it worked well for you.

We are taking your comments into consideration about our breakfast as we continue to work to make it better. It also might please you to know we are planning some improvements at our Inn, some of which you talked about, but we will be leaving it as a surprise so hopefully by the time you visit back you will be able to enjoy the improvements. It also pleases me to hear that you found our Inn to be "100% value". We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable rooms at a budget friendly price. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews