We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University Inn Tucson
Nearby Hotels
$87
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson Airport(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Lodge and Casitas(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$500
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$91
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$118
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$143
$109
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
70
97
31
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
97
31
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastwoman traveling alonefree wifian extra nightnice tvwalking distanceroom was cleanfridge and microwavewifi worked wellplenty of hot waterstayed here for one nightstay there againyogurtfront officetwo double bedscentral locationnight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 210 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The "breakfast" was pretty awful, and they charged for Wi-Fi (4 hours for $2, and you couldn't save what you paid for so that you could use some in the evening and some in the morning). Very run of the mill. Wouldn't stay here again at the price charged.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmickey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Mmmickey55,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding our motel. We did attempt to contact you to give you a refund for the internet time that you had bought and to get more feedback, but we were left waiting for your reply. I am sorry that your stay was not all that it could be, however I would like to comment on your statements.

I apologize that the breakfast was "awful" according to you, but you never specified why. A lot of motels in our direct competition do not provide breakfast at all and even the ones that do, don't provide as much as we do for our breakfast. The start of this year we introduced more items to our breakfast which include the following: coffee, tea, donuts, orange juice, cereal, milk, bread, bagels, pastries, and fruit. We make a continuous effort in how to make our breakfast even better. At the rates that we charge we exceed the standard of what to provide to our guests for breakfast. It also might be good to know we personally buy all the breakfast items from the local markets and keep them fresh to serve.

I would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you had regarding the wireless internet. We have had free wireless internet for over 10+ years and never have we purposely charged our guests. We recently upgraded our wireless system to make it more secure. We provide you with a free access code that you type into our homepage and it lets you use our free wireless internet. There was an option at the bottom of the page for external users to use our wireless internet by paying for it and so we assume that is what you did and accidentally paid to use the free wireless internet (we did get rid of that option now so guests don't get confused). Since we care about our guests and do not like to displease any of them, we did reach out to you to refund the money you spent on buying the internet time, but we are waiting for a reply.

Here at the University Inn Motel we certainly do not believe we are a resort, but what we do have is a great balance of what we provide and what we charge our guests. You can find motels cheaper than us and motels that charge a lot more, but we maximize on providing the most amenities, highest standard of cleanliness, and exceptionally customer service, all without charging outrageous prices for a good nights sleep. We have built our own brand and majority of our guests are regulars who keep coming back because of the great balance in quality and the rates that we charge. Again I am sorry for the inconveniences you had and do hope you give us another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this inn just one night and found it to be very average. During check in we were not given the kind of room we had reserved and had to go back and have it corrected. The location is not in the most desirable area and there is limited access to restaurants. The towels were very small and thin. If you are looking for a good value, this may be your place. We would look around before booking this motel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine35507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sunshine35507,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel on TripAdvisor. I want to apologize first most for not being able to accommodate you into the room type you had initially reserved. My best assumption would be that we put you into a 2 bed room instead of a 1 bed room or vice versa. However, I am glad we were able to sort it out and accommodate you into the type of room you had reserved. Our location is centrally located and yes we do agree there are not many restaurants within 5 minutes of walking, but within a mile radius (15 minute walking distance) we have not only the popular 4th avenue bar, restaurant, and shopping district but the University of Arizona college campus which has many restaurants on its main gate center. I noticed that you said the towels were "very small and thin", so I am sure you would be pleased to know we are working on getting new towels. By any means we do not consider ourselves a resort, but we provide very clean rooms and many amenities that not even high end hotels offer. All that at a reasonable price for travelers who do not want to put a dent in their wallets for a good nights sleep. I apologize again for any inconveniences you might have had during your stay and hope that you give us another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This motel is in a central location with good amenities including fridge and microwave - which is nice for a multiple night stay. The rooms are clean, the staff very helpful and the price is right. One of the best secrets is the comfortable bed and good pillows - very important part of the stay. They also offer a complementary extended continental breakfast available in the lobby. All in all I found the rooms comfortable with good amenities and a very good bed - which is really important to me. This is my motel of choice when going to Tucson.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Beverly W,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor about our property. We are indeed centrally located and provide many amenities like you have mentioned. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and pillows! Just like you have said, we do provide complementary extended continental breakfast. Funny story is that our breakfast amenities continue to grow over the years become larger and larger to giving customers a wide variety of choice on what to eat. With the price our customers pay and for the amenities you get, we try to exceed expectations. Our clientele are people who want a clean, comfortable room with necessary amenities, at a good price. I am also very glad to hear that the University Inn Motel is your "motel of choice when going to Tucson". Thank you again for your kind comments and hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and found our hosts to be very helpful and friendly. The king bed room is well laid out and the room was always very clean on our return each day. We slept very well with great bed and pillows. If you leave the bathroom window open you may here an occasional whistle of a train but otherwise there is very little noise. Even aircon is low volume.
Whilst here the hosts were changing over wifi and had some problems. They were so keen to fix it that our ipad became a "test" machine and they phoned and returned it when all fixed. Great service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Dianna C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you had an excellent 5 night stay at our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our bed and pillow. We do have the train tracks pretty far away from the motel but at night even at a distance you can sometimes hear it if you are a light sleeper. Indeed you are correct, we were in the process of changing our Wifi internet to make it more secure for our customers and I am glad we swiftly got it all worked out for you. Again I would like to thank you for all your nice comments and we hope to serve you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a surprisingly well-equipped motel for the price. Big room, desk, bath, amenities, plus free wi-fi and a continental breakfast. All for a very modest price. Only concern for light sleepers - there is a rail line nearby, so I did hear trains a few times. I was there for less than 12 hours, for an early meeting at the university, so this fit the bill perfectly. Try it and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Second floor will avoid the lights from the cars parked in front of the rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara9286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Barbara9286,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear that one of your initial thoughts were about how our motel was "well-equipped". We have invested much energy into providing all the essential amenities our guests would need such as TVs with many channels, free wireless internet, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron, comfortable beds, and much more! We also provide free breakfast every morning, all at a reasonable price for our guests. We are much a distance away from the railroad tracks, but we wish just as much as you if the trains would be quite at night for light sleepers all around. Unfortunately we do not have the ability to do that so we do manage with it. Being at a walking distance to the University and downtown, our motel is at a wonderful location. We thank you for all the kind comments and recommending this place to others. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews