We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value For the Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn Tucson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Inn Tucson
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the University Inn on many occasions over the years. I find it to be clean, comfortable, and a great value. It's within walking distance to the University of Arizona and centrally located to shoppping areas and restaurants and close to downtown and the UofA campus and UofA Medical Center. Mr. Patel and family are extremely nice and I would highly recommend this pleasant motel if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realpriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear realpriscilla,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay. It is wonderful to see that you have been a loyal customer who keeps coming back due to our service and quality. Thank you for recommending the University Inn Motel and as always, we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
54
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed here for three nights while in Tucson for work/catchup with friends. I wanted someplace cheap, safe, clean, and quiet...while still being close to the University area. This fit the bill perfectly. I had to travel to both northwest Tucson and southeast Tucson, and University Inn was a perfect central location. Plus it's close to the University area and all the great things to do around there.

The service was great. I admit, I don't need much-quiet, non-smoking, and clean. Since I used to got to school there, I didn't need directions, so I don't really know how comprehensive their tourist assistance would be, but I imagine they would be very helpful. If you are looking for spa service and a concierge, this isn't your place. But in my experience, the people who run it/work there were really helpful and accommodating, and the room was spotless. Yes, the hotel is a bit older, but the paint was fresh, the sheets crisp, the mattress new, the parking lot well-lit, and not a speck of dust anywhere. Good a/c, too. And as someone allergic to smoke, I am always worried when a hotel has any smoking rooms at all, since often the smoke comes in through the ventilation. But in this case, it's not a problem...the smoking areas are isolated at the ends of the hotel, and seem to be completely separate buildings! NO smoking issues whatsoever!

One quirk I thought was great...don't know if was just my television remote (yes, lots of cable channels and free wifi) or everyone's, but it was blocked from going past a certain volume level. As an older building, the walls are a tad thin, but I rarely heard anything and if all the TV volumes are kept at a certain level, I thought that was a brilliant idea to reduce noise complaints.

Pretty basic continental breakfast...coffee and pastries...but hey, if you want the Marriot, pay for the Marriot. Free coffee is free coffee, and saves you a bit of time and money in the morning. I would recommend University Inn, and will definitely be staying there again on any further trips to Tucson. Just promise not to raise your prices if you get too many good reviews!

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kat_Marie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Kat_Marie2012,

I want to first thank you for taking the time to post a review of our motel on Tripadvisor. Thank you for all your kind words about our motel and service. We strive on providing the highest quality at a budget. Again thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacán, Sinaloa, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The University Inn is very comfortable, free WiFi, continental breakfast, is so quiet, relax and clean. It has a friendly staff, is near downtown, also has a nice pool. Everytime a go to Tucson, my family and i stayed at the University Inn. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: downstairs rooms are better when you go shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cristal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Cristal R,

I want to take the time to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for all your kind comments about our service and quality. We hope to see you and your family soon when you visit Tucson again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed in Tucson near the University for several years. Staying at the elegant Marriott didn't get me much more besides a fancy atrium, and I had to pay extra for WiFi. For less than a quarter of the price, at the University Inn I was very comfortable, received free high speed WiFi, continental breakfast, a quiet room with microwave, iron board, and fridge. From there, you are still within walking distance from the University. This is one deal you can not miss. Enjoy your stay, I know you will.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Steven M.,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience staying with us. We do our best to provide clean rooms at a reasonable price with all the amenities you could possibly need, like the free Wi-Fi internet. It is always a pleasure to read kind words about our hospitality. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at the University Inn in Tucson for four nights last month. I found the hotel clean, well maintained and with a friendly staff. The hotel is located near downtown Tucson and the University area so it was ver convenient to most local attractions. The room was clean and well maintained. I appreciated the fridge in the room along with many cable channels. The hotel offered fresh coffee, tea, donuts and cereals free for breakfast. A full service restaurant is located across the street. The price was great and overall I thought it was an excellent value. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: I chose a ground level room which was very convenient to load/unload my baggage. There is plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry p, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Marco T.,

I would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the kind words about our hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

While the room was adequate, I was surprised to have a call on my hotel phone in the morning 'asking if I wanted company Barbie' (highly summarized version of the conversation). Only the front desk knew my name and room number so either they called or gave my number to somebody, both of which are unacceptable. So, unless you are interested in company, you should probably avoid this motel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraDekeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry p, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi Barbara Dekeyser,

We sincerely appologize for any inconveniences that occured when you stayed at our motel.

We had an issue with an ex-employee who would make these taunting calls in the middle of the night, using our automated system with an operator, pressing random room numbers to harass room guests. We have contacted the authorities and the issue was resolved quite as soon as we discovered it.

I see that you had no problem with our room and service. I wish to welcome you again to serve you with our quality rooms, this time without the prank calls. =)

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.3 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#58 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Flamingo
Quality Inn Flamingo
#88 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Tucson

Property: University Inn Tucson
Address: 950 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Tucson 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Tucson, less than one mile away from the University of Arizona (Bear Down!!!), Tucson Downtown/Convention Center, and the 4th Avenue tourist district. Locally owned and operated for over 20+ years, the University Inn Tucson proudly offers its Guests comfortable and clean guestrooms at competitively affordable rates. Generous amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet, and coin laundry facilities. All our rooms have remote TVs with free premium cable, refrigerators and microwaves, hair dryers, and ironing capabilities. We are the ultimate hospitality destination with quality rooms at a friendly price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your University Inn Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing