We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying as it was meant to be”

Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides
Ranked #7 of 39 Tours in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tucson, Arizona's premier hot air balloon ride company since 1985. First class rides over the beautiful Tucson Mts. Includes delicious champagne brunch and digital pics of entire flight. Personalized for 2-5 people. FAA certified. Perfect Safety Record!! Featured on Animal Planet's Jeff Corwin AZ Experience,on Fodors AZ Travel Guide and Frommer's Guidebook.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

30 years ago I lived in the SF Bay Area and always wanted to take a balloon ride over Napa Valley. Unfortunately life and responsibilities always got in the way. As I was planning our recent vacation to Arizona, I came across the Fleur de Tucson website and reserved a spot for me and my wife. Becky handled the pre-flight planning and provided all the necessary information. She kept us up-to-date by phone and email as the date approached.

We had a wonderful time and felt safe the whole flight. My wife does suffer at times from motion sickness on winding roads, but she said the flight was "a piece of cake". Since you are traveling with the wind, you do not feel any motion.

The views were spectacular, especially the sunrise over the mountains.

Unlike the other poster who was disappointed to have to "share" the balloon with another couple, we found that sharing the balloon with another couple who were celebrating a life event made the trip all the more worthwhile.

If anyone is a little leery about touring the Tucson area in a balloon, cast those concerns aside and give Becky and Mike a call. You won't be disappointed!

Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurdetucson, Owner at Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Don, thank you for your nice review! We so enjoyed meeting you both and sharing the morning with you. We really appreciate your kind words! Hopefully we will see you again in Tucson or when we come your way for a balloon rally!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 96 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great Christmas gift for the kids, we wanted something special for them to remember our trip to the desert. We chose Tuscon for clearer skies, less pollution and longer than rides in Phoenix. A great ground crew got the trip started on time. Booking was easy and efficient,as was payment cash is always an option but extra surcharge on using a visa was something of a surprise.
Overall a good experience, photos are a bonus an included in the price which was nice, but I agree some looked like stock photos from other trips, but a nice touch none the less.

Thank WilmaD629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurdetucson, Owner at Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Wilma, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your balloon ride. We appreciate your feedback on the credit card charge and have decided to change our policy. Instead of charging a credit card fee, we will offer a discount for cash payment. Regarding the photos, we take as many pictures as possible before you take off, while you are in the air, and after the flight - usually 25 or more. Occasionally I am able to capture a particularly beautiful picture, which I save and include on the card you are given for you to enjoy, which I usually explain when I give you the card. (The other companies give you only a few pictures total that are emailed to you). Once you get home with the sd card, you are then free to delete the pics you don't want and keep the rest. Thanks again for your feedback. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband booked this trip for two, we wanted it to be special since it was our first hot air balloon ride, and that is how Becky and Mike (the host) had said it would be arranged. When we meet our host at Denny's we find out another couple is coming along for the ride, okay fine! We travel to our departure location and when we get in the basket (all five of us) we barely fit. Can't move much, stepping on each others toes, can't really take a good picture without somebody being in the way.... We were up in the air for about 30 minutes before we had to land. At the end of our ride the host gave us a Memory Card with pictures they had taken of us, when I get home I realize that out of the 31 photos, we only came out in 4. The rest were photos of previous rides with other folks. In the end this ride was OVER PRICED for the little satisfaction my husband and I got. Not only that Becky and Mike were a little cocky at times, not very pleasant to be around.

1  Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurdetucson, Owner at Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your balloon ride. When you booked your ride online, you did not indicate that you wanted a private ride for 2 (which, of course, costs more as shown on the website), so you were confirmed accordingly. Amelia, although you may have felt like you were only up for 30 minutes, you were in the air for over an hour. Our rides are never less than an hour long, and often much longer. As for the pictures, except for the four pictures taken of you before your take off and after the ride, when you were toasting the flight, the rest are taken from the ground while following the balloon as you fly over the mountains, etc., so your face cannot possibly be in every picture. In 30 years of flying, we have never had an unsatisfied guest, so we were very surprised to read this review. It seems as though you had your mind made up from the beginning to not enjoy your ballooning experience. Again, we are very sorry for your dissapointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our 3rd balloon trip, and all have been wonderful. This one was different, we went over the Tucson mountains, great air speed and so quiet, but saw lots of animals, coyotes, mule deer, and many javalinas. Our "pilot" Mike was wonderful, he so enjoys his work, and his crew is the best. Love people who have a passion for what they do. Our grandson really enjoyed it, seeing so much more of Tucson than a tourist would. And champagne afterwards with Beck's great muffins, great end to a great morning.

1  Thank GKNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurdetucson, Owner at Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you, thank you! Since this was your third balloon flight, it means alot to us that you enjoyed it so much! We do love what we do and am pleased that it shows! Glad you enjoyed the muffins....;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mike and Becky have a great thing going here. The so love what they do and are so good at it. We had a wonderful time and always felt safe and in good hands. They went out of their way to make sure that everything went smoothly and even gave us a ride back to our resort.

Thank Sophia88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleurdetucson, Owner at Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you, Sophia! We are so glad you had a good time and we really enjoyed visiting with you as we drove back to the resort. Hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides also viewed

 

Been to Fleur de Tucson Hot Air Balloon Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing