We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”
Review of Hacienda Linda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Linda
Ranked #10 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Proprietors Linda and Dan are fantastic hosts who see to every detail of your stay to ensure it is nothing less than fabulous. From the minute you arrive until it's time to go, they make you feel welcome and relaxed. My wife and I stayed for two nights in the King Suite, but either room would have been the right choice. Dan's fluffy omelets were a great way to start the day, and we found the location very convenient to Saguaro National Park West and the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum. Downtown Tucson was not that far away for a night out. Though the dirt road was a little bumpy to get to Hacienda Linda, we would gladly drive it again to return -- and we do plan to come back in the future. It really was a highlight during our short time in Arizona.

Room Tip: We had the King Suite, but the Queen Bedroom would also have been a good choice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Linda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're looking for a different experience in Tucson and don't want to stay at another boring hotel, Hacienda Linda is the very best choice. My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at this B&B while in town for a medical procedure. We stayed for 3 nights in the King Suite. From the moment you pull up, you are greeted like you have known Dan and Linda for years! We arrived as the sun was setting and the landscape was gorgeous with soft, then blazing colors. With no city lights to interfere, the sky became so dark, we were able to see a myriad of stars, and were even able to capture some of them on "film!" We are both avid photographers and were trying out new cameras. There was just not enough time to capture all of the endless beauty of Hacienda Linda, let alone the Saguaro National Desert, which borders the area, but with no tripod and barely any knowledge of out new Sony cameras, we did what we could.

The King room is gorgeously decorated in earth tones with antique furniture, a tempur-pedic bed, TV and even your choice of pillows!! I even needed a fan (that makes noise) to sleep and at first Linda didn't think she had one But thanks Linda's quick memory, a previous guest left one behind, and I was able to rest peacefully the last 2 nights I loved the fireplace and the view, this room was simply magical. Wait til you see the over-sized claw foot tub!! But truly, the entire home is so beautifully decorated, you feel immense warmth and love at Hacienda Linda; and thoughtful, careful attention to detail in every room. Every corner you turn is a new pop of color, or texture, or fabric, and everything flows together beautifully. Outside is just as inviting. You feel the love they have for each other and and for nature in how they care for their grounds.

As we are from Pennsylvania, we weren't sure about horseback riding places with such short notice. Linda went well above and beyond the call of duty by arranging riding close by at Cocoraque Ranch, and made a reservation for dinner for us in downtown Tucson at a place called the Cafe Poca Cosa, a very romantic Mexican restaurant with excellent chips and salsa, sangria and ambiance. You have to try the Chef's Special, You don't know what you are getting until it comes, but it won't disappoint. I will post pictures of all of these places with this review, but they, like my words, do not do Hacienda Linda justice. I agree, along with the views, Dan and Linda are by far the best reason to stay at Hacienda Linda. I absolutely loved our conversations and the story of how Hacienda Linda came to be. Oh and Linda, your breakfast burritos rock!

But I knew we were at the perfect place when as Dan and Linda called it, I was "indoctrinated!" I literally stepped out of my shoe and onto cactus needles and they deeply penetrated my skin. I was scared and in pain but Dan knew what to do, and safely removed the cactus needles! Within 10 minutes I had forgotten all about it, and it didn't leave a mark.

There really isn't much more I can say that others haven't already. Dan and Linda are the perfect hosts and do whatever they can to make your stay safe, comfortable, memorable and carefree. With 6 acres of exquisite desert landscape, impeccable service, amazing healthy meals with much attention to detail, and two loving, and two well-behaved dogs that will become your new best friends, what's not to love about Hacienda Linda?

This is truly a one of a kind experience and worth every penny. I miss being there so much already and can't wait to go back. Bella and Gomez we miss you too!
~ Shannon & George, Pennsylvania

Room Tip: If you go to Cocoraque ranch to ride horses, bring your own water!!! The place is not set up like...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Looking for that PERFECT B&B tucked away from the main stream. Then look no further than HACIENDA LINDA which boarders the Saguaro National Desert. As you drive off the paved roadway & drive in between some cactus that just seem to guide you straight to HACIENDA LINDA. Once you reach your destination you will be AWED by the wonderful landscape not to mention the VIBRANT beautiful colors of your B&B. I say your B&B because the best part of your stay is about to greet YOU. Your host or as I prefer to call them our FRIENDS Dan & Linda are without a DOUBT thee BEST reason you should stay at HACIENDA LINDA. They simply make you feel that it is your HOME away from HOME. Want RELAXATION ! Want COLOR ! Want the GREAT outdoors ! Want GREAT food ! You simply won't want to leave. ~Gary & Rhonda from Ohio

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryKlinelnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Words can't truly describe this unique, unique piece of heaven The grounds allow you to reflect, write, think....even take a nap on the front porch. The breakfasts were delicious (Chef Dan makes a mean omlet and Linda will give you more or less :) if you desire) The love for their home is evident by the pride they express while telling their story and while sharing their true love of the nature that surrounds them. Linda made reservations for us to go to Kitt Peak and she had several suggestions for dining, shopping and entertainment Looking forward to a return visit. Miss the beauty and calm of Hacienda Linda.....miss Bella and Gomez, too.

Room Tip: Either of the rooms rooms would be great, waking to the incredible sunrise. You can not go wrong...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo3gurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were in town for the weekend to do some birding and to visit the Saguaro National Park and the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum. We searched for a place close to the park and thankfully we found Hacienda Linda! This B & B abuts to the Saguaro National Park and is a short drive to the Desert Museum, Old Tucson, and Gates Pass (remarkable hiking and picturesque views!). All these things were great, but they are not what made this an amazing experience!!! From arrival to departure, everything was warm, laid-back, and stunning! Immediately upon arrival, Linda welcomed us with a big hug and a beautiful gracious smile (Dan was out and about). She showed us around the interior of their beautifully designed and decorated home - words and pictures can't do it justice, because it has a feel that is nothing short of magical! We watched the sun paint the sky in twilight hues at dusk before heading off to dinner to Cafe Poca Cosa (http://cafepocacosatucson.com) - Linda recommended it and handled making reservations for us! Atlanta does not have Mexican food like this…world changing! We returned to sleep on a Tempurpedic king sized bed and awoke to a beautiful fuchsia sunrise. Prior to embarking upon our days adventure, Linda laid out a full breakfast of orange juice, coffee, greek-yogurt parfaits, our choice of bagel with lox, onions, tomatoes, capers, and cream cheese - all organic! We returned that night after our day of exploration and fell into bed exhausted! Sunday, we arose to "King's Omelet Day" - which meant Linda's husband, Dan, had assumed the cooking duties. He made fresh veggie omelets with soy chorizo, avocado and tomato garnish, orange juice, and coffee - Just fantastic! We went outside to take pictures by the fountain before leaving (joined by the coolest two dogs ever - Bella and Gomez) and we were on our way with great memories, rejuvenated souls, and seven new birds on the "lifer" list. They rent one room in their home, so you are the sole focus of their pampering…just can't recommend this sanctuary highly enough!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This has to be, by far, our very, very favorite b&b. Their home is beautifully decorated & fitting for the lovely setting in the Sonoran Desert of Tucson. One could get totally lost in the bold colors of the house & the front porch with a myriad of eclectic desert decor. The yard area has wonderful, artistic ornaments & beautiful water fountain with pond area for the many visiting critters. Speaking of critters--you won't believe how eco-friendly this place is for the many furry & feathered visitors. Awesome. Linda & Dan are two of the most wonderful hosts one could have. It was hard not to want to visit with them & learn everything we could about them. One quickly wants them as friends forever. (They want YOU to enjoy the beauty of nature, the quiet surroundings & romantic lodging) We had the king-sized room, which had its own private entry. Oh my goodness, what a room & bath! Take a look at all the photos--it's 10 times better. It was so peaceful sitting outside in the morning with coffee, watching all the types of birds, near that impressive outdoor shower. And the breakfast Dan & Linda prepare is fit for a king--and a queen. They have 6 acres but the Saguaro National Park is their backyard--the WOW factor is off the charts. And the sunsets are more lovely than one can imagine. By all means, let Bella & Gomez give you their undivided attention. If 5 stars is the tops, we'll give them a 10.

Room Tip: Take the king room--you'll enjoy sitting by the large picture window & you will love that ou...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Based on the immediate greeting from Linda and Dan as we arrived at Hacienda Linda, it was obvious we were in for a wonderful retreat. Linda and Dan were so unbelievably gracious in allowing our daughter to join us for this Mother's Day get away. Thank you. While we are Tucson natives and residents, Hacienda Linda truly felt like an out-of-town vacation retreat.

Linda gave us the comprehensive inside tour of this desert gem and Dan gave us a history tour and showed around the 6-acre oasis. We spent hours just getting to know Dan and Linda - and Gomez and Bella - the resident dogs. Bella howled a few times just to say that she liked us being there.

The house is beautiful indeed. So much of Dan and Linda's tastes, style, and hard work comes through in the house design. They have done an amazing job restoring a former Jazz musician's home. We had a truly spectacular dinner. Linda put together a seriously tasty meal and we all enjoyed more time just talking. We slept beautifully and awoke to yet another amazing meal - this time from Dan. Omelets, juice, pastries, coffee - the works. We lounged around the breakfast table and decided that we really did not want to leave. Thank you both so much for such a wonderful time at your beautiful home. We wish you all the best and can't wait to host you at our home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketracyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
785 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
26.0 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Tierra
Casa Tierra
#18 of 46 in Tucson
43 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cat Mountain Lodge
Cat Mountain Lodge
#4 of 46 in Tucson
129 reviews
11.4 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Linda

Address: 12646 West Fort Lowell Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $195 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Linda rests on 6 acres nestled alongside Saguaro National Park West. It is an artist's retreat that boasts stunning sunsets and is just 30 minutes from downtown Tucson. You'll see a wide variety of birds and might catch glimpses of local wildlife in their natural setting. Hacienda Linda has an open floor plan with an Exotic flair! The beautiful guest rooms are on opposite ends of the home for complete privacy. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing