We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mother's Day Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Linda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Linda
Save
You added Hacienda Linda to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Mother's Day Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Based on the immediate greeting from Linda and Dan as we arrived at Hacienda Linda, it was obvious we were in for a wonderful retreat. Linda and Dan were so unbelievably gracious in allowing our daughter to join us for this Mother's Day get away. Thank you. While we are Tucson natives and residents, Hacienda Linda truly felt like an out-of-town vacation retreat.

Linda gave us the comprehensive inside tour of this desert gem and Dan gave us a history tour and showed around the 6-acre oasis. We spent hours just getting to know Dan and Linda - and Gomez and Bella - the resident dogs. Bella howled a few times just to say that she liked us being there.

The house is beautiful indeed. So much of Dan and Linda's tastes, style, and hard work comes through in the house design. They have done an amazing job restoring a former Jazz musician's home. We had a truly spectacular dinner. Linda put together a seriously tasty meal and we all enjoyed more time just talking. We slept beautifully and awoke to yet another amazing meal - this time from Dan. Omelets, juice, pastries, coffee - the works. We lounged around the breakfast table and decided that we really did not want to leave. Thank you both so much for such a wonderful time at your beautiful home. We wish you all the best and can't wait to host you at our home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miketracyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
60
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just what we were looking for in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona. Linda and Dan were terrific hosts, and the breakfast was wonderful. We arose early to wander around their 6 acres of desert landscape. Gazing into the adjacent Saguaro National Park the terrain was covered with Saguaro, Prickly Pear and Cholla cacti for as far as we could see. It was a marvelous stay, and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBuchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from another incredible stay at the Hacienda Linda. It is hard to find words to describe the natural beauty of this secluded location and the graciousness of Dan and Linda. On the last night of our stay, we were hoping to see one of the glorious sunsets that we have read about. That being the case, we arranged for a home-cooked meal by Dan and Linda, which is described on their website. It was a rather cloudy afternoon, so at first it appeared that a sunset was not in the cards for us that evening, but then, rather suddenly, there appeared the most spectacular sunset that we have ever seen! It was truly breathtaking, and unfortunately our photos don’t come close to doing it justice, but we are attaching one anyway. While the sunset was hard to top, the food and the remainder of the evening were just as wonderful. The entire front yard was sparkling with tea-lights as we ate our meal on the covered porch and shared enjoyable conversation with our charming hosts. We cannot recommend this place more highly—the ambiance is almost mystical—you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We're sure that staying in the Queen suite would be very nice too, but we have stayed (twice) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you like the desert, you will love staying at the Hacienda Linda. They are located in a quiet desert area that is calm and peaceful. You can see beautiful sunrises over the mountains and breath-taking sunsets that silhouette the saguaros. You can explore the desert right there in their garden and on their property, or you can go down the road to the Saguaro National Park. Your host and hostess, Dan and Linda, are superb. Their goal is to be sure you have the best time possible. They are probably the best hosts we have had at any B&B we have stayed at. Other attractions and Tucson are within easy traveling distance and you will find plenty of things to do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Linda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited with Dan & Linda from 3/9-3/14 and had a glorious vacation! Their home is warm, inviting, and offers a true respite from the "rest of the world!" From the moment we arrived and Linda hugged my neck, I knew I was going to love her - and I truly adore she and Dan. They are gracious and make you feel like family - but terribly pampered family who are not allowed to lift a finger to do anything! We had amazing breakfasts every day, got excellent hiking suggestions, and were even "appropriately dressed" for our adventures under Linda's guidance. Gomez & Bella are great companions, too!

Room Tip: We loved the king room - the big soaking tub and proximity to the outside shower was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Looking for the royal treatment? For just a little more than it costs to stay at a standard hotel, you can find it at the exclusive Hacienda Linda. This bed and breakfast, located next to the Saguaro Forest outside of town, has only two bedrooms. You get one, and your hosts, Dan and Linda, take the other, and do everything to make your stay pleasant. The beautifully decorated house and wonderful land is at your disposal.

We rented the hacienda for our wedding and Dan and Linda went out of their way to create a special atmosphere. Not only did they re-landscape the property to accommodate our ceremony and party, painstakingly relocating dozens of penstemons and cactus and cutting back the undergrowth to prevent unintended encounters with wildlife, they even got the phone company to remove some old telephone poles they thought might spoil the view. Our guests enjoyed a heavenly vision of the moon rising over the Tucson mountains as we said our vows.

Dan and Linda took care of all the rentals, getting the tables, linens, and other necessities, coordinated with the caterers, and offered valet parking to our guests. They don't host too many weddings, so count yourself lucky if they agree to do yours. Also, be pretty specific about the details. There was, at times, some confusion regarding what they had agreed to do and what we needed to hire others to do. Ultimately, however, our wedding was just perfect. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful location: it's a paragon of the Sonoran Dessert.

In the morning, Linda will bring you coffee or tea, as you choose, and Dan will cook breakfast at whatever time you require, to any taste or dietary restriction. If you enjoy dogs, their lovely pets, Bella and Gomez, will clamor for your attention and make you feel special. (If you do not enjoy dogs, they will be restricted to another room.) Take your breakfast in the garden, where hundreds of birds (in season) will hop around for your delight. We saw a hummingbird during our wedding reception, and quails, cardinals, doves, and woodpeckers while we ate omelets and potatoes.

Hacienda Linda offers guests a private, magical desert retreat, a short drive from the city.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms at Hacienda Linda, and they are both exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaIlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Remotely located near the Sonoran Desert Museum, this B&B is warm and inviting, offering peace and tranquility to the guests. This home is uniquely furnished and the ambience is just incredible. The grounds are amazingly lush with desert cacti and wildlife, and nearby hiking trails are just a short drive away. The owners, Dan and Linda are gracious hosts and made our experience ever so memorable. It was as though we were staying with old friends we had known for a lifetime.
Special dietary preferences were accommodated for and every meal was deliciously exquisite.

If you are looking for a true, desert experience, Hacienda Linda is truly a refuge.
A relaxing and serene home away from home, it is an oasis among the gentle giant Saguaros.
We are already planning our next stay at Hacienda Linda!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiRN629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
17.4 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
9.5 mi away
Cat Mountain Lodge
Cat Mountain Lodge
#7 of 52 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
11.5 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Linda

Property: Hacienda Linda
Address: 12646 W Fort Lowell Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Linda rests on 6 acres nestled alongside Saguaro National Park West. It is an artist's retreat that boasts stunning sunsets and is just 30 minutes from downtown Tucson. You'll see a wide variety of birds and might catch glimpses of local wildlife in their natural setting. Hacienda Linda has an open floor plan with an Exotic flair! The beautiful guest rooms are on opposite ends of the home for complete privacy. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing