We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal For The Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you have kids, this is NOT a pool-laden Disneyland resort. But. I was on business, and everything I needed was there, clean and the staff were very friendly. Parking was hit-and-miss given the merchants in town for a rock and mineral show, but that actually helped in regards to security. Thieves and drug dealers were deterred by the merchants' presence...this hotel would be worthy of more stars but it is alongside a Freeway, which turns some folks, especially those who deem a bicycle speaking by their farm house homes, to be too noisy. I live in a major city, where noise is normal and what can I say? The complimentary-unlimited cookies, breakfast, bottled water and other amenities were plenty for me. The phone system was such that I was even able to use the room's phone message system without having a background in wiretapping ;) Told my wife when I got home, if I ever wanna return to see the Wildcats play, I'd stay there again without any hesitation. Local TV is awful, so, again, if you're expecting a hotel to include state of the art entertainment in-house you need to invest in a Time Share. :)

Room Tip: Elevator but no valet. This is Not a 5-star resort. And, to my knowledge, there's no bar. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 510 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good mid-scale hotel, that is pet-friendly. They have complimentary cookies and water which is nice. The hotel is nothing fancy but nice and clean and comfortable, there is free wifi, and complimentary breakfast, definitely a good hotel, and good value.

Room Tip: Book top floor if you don't mind the third level. I could hear the walking around in the room u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the best breakfasts included. Herb de Provence Potatoes, fresh melons, great fresh eggs with cheese & herbs....This was a wonderful clean room, best bathroom, helpful desk staff..... what more could we say? We would love to stay here again if in the city again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked the hotel on hotwire.com for $58. Despite the good reviews, it still exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean. There are free bottled water, cookies, and fruits in the lobby. The hotel is right next to the freeway but we didn't hear any noise. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good too. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here on a roadtrip from Houston to SF. We checked in pretty late at night and left early in the morning so really all we did there was sleep and eat dinner/breakast. They have an interesting way of doing room service here. The kitchen at the hotel doesn't make your food, but instead they have an outside service make/deliver your food. The food was better than I expected but I would have rather eaten out. And breakfast was the normal hotel buffet. A really nice ammenity of this hotel is that they offer free bottled water at the front desk. I would recommend staying here for a night, but probably wouldn't choose this place for a true vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

First, the hotel is in a good location and the prices are fairly inexpensive. You get a nice breakfast and afternoon drinks (2). Secondly, the staff is excellent for the most part. Finally, the place is in need of a clean-up. The elevators floors are filthy. The exercise room is dangerous with equipment that is falling apart and treadmills that stop and start suddenly. The manager appears to just want life to go on without action on his part. The refrigerator in our room froze our food and the microwave didn't work. The controls for the air conditioning were behind a cover that was broken and couldn't be moved. You get the idea. Even the free shampoo, conditioner, and lotion containers were impossible to read and are extremely small. There was a fight and screaming for over an hour in the parking lot outside of our room in around 2am and nothing was done. If you aren't fussy and just want the basics this place is okay, but if you are expecting much more good elsewhere. Also be well aware of the huge speed bumps that are not marked in the parking lot. Train and vehicle noise from Interstate 10 are notable at times.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecarfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business trip only for 1 night (by accident - as our secretary booked wrongly. We were supposed to stay at the airport branch. But that was a good mistake). The breakfast is included and the choice of food is reasonable. The size of the room is decent for 2 adults and the bathroom is clean and big too. Counter service staffs are helpful and friendly. Good experience...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
988 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
2.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center

Address: 705 N Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745-8200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tucson
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#26 Family Hotel in Tucson
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $87 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Hotel Tucson
Country Inn And Suites Tucson City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing