We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Clean and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here on a roadtrip from Houston to SF. We checked in pretty late at night and left early in the morning so really all we did there was sleep and eat dinner/breakast. They have an interesting way of doing room service here. The kitchen at the hotel doesn't make your food, but instead they have an outside service make/deliver your food. The food was better than I expected but I would have rather eaten out. And breakfast was the normal hotel buffet. A really nice ammenity of this hotel is that they offer free bottled water at the front desk. I would recommend staying here for a night, but probably wouldn't choose this place for a true vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    102
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
127
94
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alta loma
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First, the hotel is in a good location and the prices are fairly inexpensive. You get a nice breakfast and afternoon drinks (2). Secondly, the staff is excellent for the most part. Finally, the place is in need of a clean-up. The elevators floors are filthy. The exercise room is dangerous with equipment that is falling apart and treadmills that stop and start suddenly. The manager appears to just want life to go on without action on his part. The refrigerator in our room froze our food and the microwave didn't work. The controls for the air conditioning were behind a cover that was broken and couldn't be moved. You get the idea. Even the free shampoo, conditioner, and lotion containers were impossible to read and are extremely small. There was a fight and screaming for over an hour in the parking lot outside of our room in around 2am and nothing was done. If you aren't fussy and just want the basics this place is okay, but if you are expecting much more good elsewhere. Also be well aware of the huge speed bumps that are not marked in the parking lot. Train and vehicle noise from Interstate 10 are notable at times.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecarfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for business trip only for 1 night (by accident - as our secretary booked wrongly. We were supposed to stay at the airport branch. But that was a good mistake). The breakfast is included and the choice of food is reasonable. The size of the room is decent for 2 adults and the bathroom is clean and big too. Counter service staffs are helpful and friendly. Good experience...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuaSPS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the Country Inn and Suites Tucson CIty and it was just what we wanted - a reasonable hotel with breakfast centrally located for sightseeing. It had a fridge and microwave which was handy for snacks and to keep water stocked. Had a hot breakfast including oatmeal, eggs, waffles, fruit and pastries. Our only wrinkle was the first night at the hotel some one keep banging their doors closed and stomping up and down the stairs but once they finally shut up, the rest of the stay was uneventful - just like we want it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twywn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. We've both traveled quite a bit for business and personal enjoyment. The room was perfect size for two plus a guest one night on the sleeper couch. Great idea having 2 closets and 2 flat screens. Fridge was super handy to keep water cold. Loved the fruit, cookies and free water!!!! Lovely way to start and end a day. We very much appreciated the exceptional courtesy and assistance from a front desk rep, Heather Pavlik. Super helpful, always greats you with a smile and knows her community. Made our trip around town and hikes even more enjoyable. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg PA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The woman on duty was tremendously friendly and helpful. Efficient and professional as well. It was very nice after a long travel day to get into our room quickly. Even slightly before 3 pm.
The room was just what we would expect in a Country Inn and Suites. The morning breakfast was fine as well. So glad we booked this room while attending the Tucson Birding Festival down the street at the Riverpark Inn. Thanks for Festival rates!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the highway but no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EVGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights while on vacation. Thevhotel is easy to reach from the interstate but far enough to be quiet. Huge rooms with nice decorating and clean bathroom. Room also had a fridge. Th hotel offers free breakfast with waffles, there is fruit, cookies and bottled water in the lobby 24/7. Only shortcoming is the distance to restaurants. There is only a Denny's in walking distance.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
#29 of 130 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
1.5 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
4.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Address: 705 N Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745-8200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tucson
#26 Family Hotel in Tucson
#30 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tucson City Center
Country Inn & Suites Tucson City Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing