We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tucson Botanical Gardens
Open today: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
Small, but mighty

These gardens are definitely smaller than the big cities but they did not disappoint. They’re full... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
lstart
,
Tucson, Arizona
via mobile
Nice activity

Very well maintained and a lovely way to spend the day. Some work was being done on one end but... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Mabel1996
,
Ona, West Virginia
via mobile
Read all 939 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tucson
from $21.95
More Info
from $154.00
More Info
from $41.00
More Info
from $54.35
More Info
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
939 results
Traveler rating
551
285
79
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
551
285
79
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly house butterfly room beautiful butterflies gift shop desert plants miniature train butterfly area plant life couple of hours on display desert museum origami cactus gardening bloom greenhouse oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 939 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

The gardens were pretty and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The butterfly exhibit was beautiful.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank margruse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

The best bit about these gardens is the small butterfly house. They have some nice cacti and plants but it is quite a small place and to be honest we later walked around a garden centre and it was just as good in some ways. What is there is done well but it is just very small place.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson B, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback, Linda. We understand we fell short of your expectations due to the size of our Gardens at 5.5 acres. We understand completely and agree with your sentiments. We're disappointed we're not larger as well and we're working on that. With more support from the community and garden appreciators such as yourself, we'll be able to grow our space over time.

We hope you come back and visit us again in the Spring, Fall or Winter. The blooms we have during those times are amazing and it feels even nicer in a space our size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Some friends and I enjoyed a few hours rambling around the lovely gardens. I particularly enjoyed the Barrio garden. Learned what not to plant locally after exploring the herb garden, LOL. We were buzzed by hummingbirds periodically, always a thrill. Plenty of parking. Really fantastic gift shop, and a great restaurant on-site. Not terribly far from the airport, so it's a good morning activity if you are driving guests to an afternoon flight. We missed the tour, but I picked up a brochure on the history of the property, which I enjoyed reading. There were lots of volunteers doing their thing: nice to see.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank VespagirL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

Butterfly Magic is only open during certain times of the year. Be sure to check the website first. For me that was worth the price of admission otherwise I think it would be overpriced. The rest was nice, but it was hot and no water in site. Not even bottled water at the gift shop. Sadly it's not a nice part of town so a crazy homeless guy was scaring the girls in the gift shop that day. In addition to the beautiful plants and flowers I saw a lot of cool lizards. This is why it makes me mad that they allow dogs during the summer (which are prohibited the rest of the year). It's already hot and no one needs to be dragging their dog there. Especially no one needs to be smelling/stepping in hot piles of dog crap on the paths and the lizards and other wildlife don't need to be harassed by dogs. Stupid idea.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank nranger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

I wasn't particularly expecting to be impressed with these gardens after having been to the Desert Botanical Gardens in Scottsdale a few times (they are awesome!) However, I was pleasantly surprised and the lady who gave us a free tour was a wealth of knowledge and very enjoyable to listen to. A pleasant surprise and certainly worth the visit. There were also some lovely sculptures throughout and of course a gift shop too.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews