We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a tourist destination! I think Not!”

Tucson Botanical Gardens
Ranked #16 of 280 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Named one of the Top 10 Gardens in to visit in North America in 2017 by the Canada Garden Tourism Council and One of the Best Secret Garden in America by Reader's Digest, Tucson Botanical Gardens is an “Oasis in the Heart of Tucson. Featuring seventeen residentially-scaled specialty gardens, including a Barrio Garden, Zen Garden and a Cactus & Succulent Garden landscaped with unusual rocks from the Harrison Yocum collection. Tropical Butterflies from around the world are featured in the Cox Butterfly & Orchid Pavilion October-April. Special annual seasonal exhibits. Experience an outdoor Garden Railway, botanically-inspired gift shops, year-round tours, art exhibits and lunch at Cafe Botanica. Closed Thanksgiving, the Dec. 24 & 25, Jan. 1, the first Saturday in February and July 4.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“This is a tourist destination! I think Not!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Tucked in between two neighborhoods is a "desert garden" sort of thing. Tucson is in the middle of the desert! You can't fence off the alley and call it an "attraction". You'd better to visit a local garden center - at least they wont charge you to get in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Solar-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    224
    62
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deck The Halls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Seasonal Fun at the Tucson Botanical Gardens. Luminarias light the sidewalks, trees and plants sparkle with magical lights, various musical groups play seasonal favorites. Food trucks are available to purchase goodies or free samples by Trader Joes. I enjoyed the magic, although parking is hard to find.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

While they tout having 16 gardens, each is a tiny little space within the park. A leisurely walk through takes about 30-40 minutes...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denverfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Level Contributor
295 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens, fascinating butterfly house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've been coming to Tucson for years and never managed to make it here. But this is a great way to spend an hour or so. The gardens are a delightful way to find out the names to all the cacti and wildflowers you see while hiking. And the butterfly house is amazing. I could have stayed in there for ages if it hadn't been so hot and humid. Be sure to bring the camera, there are lots and lots of photo opps.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank yellowlabmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful way to spend an hour or more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stopped here one morning while visiting Tucson - what a delight! We thorougly enjoyed walking among and admiring the well-displayed gardens and exhibits, not to mention the wonderful butterfly house. We found the staff very helpful and willing to answer our questions. Our viist was topped off with a quick bite at the cafe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing