We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful way to spend an hour or more...”

Tucson Botanical Gardens
Ranked #15 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Named one of the Top 10 Gardens in to visit in North America in 2017 by the Canada Garden Tourism Council and One of the Best Secret Garden in America by Reader's Digest, Tucson Botanical Gardens is an “Oasis in the Heart of Tucson. Featuring seventeen residentially-scaled specialty gardens, including a Barrio Garden, Zen Garden and a Cactus & Succulent Garden landscaped with unusual rocks from the Harrison Yocum collection. Tropical Butterflies from around the world are featured in the Cox Butterfly & Orchid Pavilion October-April. Special annual seasonal exhibits. Experience an outdoor Garden Railway, botanically-inspired gift shops, year-round tours, art exhibits and lunch at Cafe Botanica. Closed Thanksgiving, the Dec. 24 & 25, Jan. 1, the first Saturday in February and July 4.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful way to spend an hour or more...”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stopped here one morning while visiting Tucson - what a delight! We thorougly enjoyed walking among and admiring the well-displayed gardens and exhibits, not to mention the wonderful butterfly house. We found the staff very helpful and willing to answer our questions. Our viist was topped off with a quick bite at the cafe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    235
    63
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very peaceful in the city”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

These folks have put together quite a lovely set of gardens that have variety as well as an educational component. You can learn about irrigation, composting, and community gardening at the same time that you stroll amongst the beautiful trees and plants. Also, the have this butterfly pavilion where you go in and the butterflies are all around. I thought it was a bit expensive. Worth it for the butterfly part, but without that, it would be way overpriced at $13 per person.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dnucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Almost Eden!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Exceptionally well tended. The butterfly greenhouse was beautifully done. Great learning experience. The docents were well qualified.
Plan on spending an hour and a half to two hours. Not in the best part of town, but well worth the trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FiOS-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Uninspiring garden. Our time was better spent at the Sonoran Desert Museum. Plants in butterfly exhibit are set out nicely. The butterfly exhibit itself is small and crowded with no room to pass other patrons viewing or taking pictures. Price is outrageous. $26. for two adults for approximately 45 minute stay. We visited the Grand Canyon a few days later. Pass for 1 week was $25.00. Not much value for your money at the botanical garden. Possibly worth a visit if the catus are blooming. The upside is that is is disabled and child friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been to Tucson many times and never even knew it was here. It was much larger than I expected, and well worth the time to walk around the grounds. I also loved the gift shop. There were plenty of places to sit and enjoy your surroundings. I loved the benches throughout. Note-I went in August 2011.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing