We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle"

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle"
Ranked #38 of 49 Tucson B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just a few minutes walk to University Medical Center. Very safe and convenient location. The breakfast, the best part of my stay, was better than what is provided by some big chain hotels. The lady who made the breakfast was very hospitable and good at cooking as well. The room needs some updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I want to start by saying, if you are looking for a great place to hold an intimate wedding, look no further. This hidden bed and breakfast has everything you are looking for and more! You will never find a venue with the everything they offer for this amazing price. Janos is an amazing man and the staff is helpful in anything you need. The rooms are perfect, location is great and they made my sister's day PERFECT! I was in charge of planning my sister's wedding in which we were all coming from out of town and states. Everyone was impressed with the venue and for our guests that stayed the night, they all slept like babies. There are no words to describe the delicious breakfast made for us in the morning. It is a must stay, rest and eat to believe. They said it was our home while we used it for the wedding and it really felt like home. It is a beautiful place and it didn't take much to tranform it into an intimate,elegant,classy wedding with family from a far to top the evening. I would highly recommend it as a venue for any gathering or I could definitely stay for a small getaway. I give this hidden treasure 5 stars all around!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcbabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

When I hear the word "B&B" or "Inn" in the USA, I usually feel a sense of trepidation. My preference is for big chain hotels. However, La Posada del Valle was a pleasure from beginning to end. The place is full of character; the decor traditional and wonderful throughout.

The bedrooms are excellent, being reasonably large, and individually decorated. All the bathroom facilities were there.

Breakfasts are apparently legendary here and I can see why. Juice, good coffee, a platter of fruits, and eggs in the southwestern manner. Service in the morning is charming.

Don't expect a traditional hotel with reception desk; I hardly saw anyone else while I was there. I felt like I had this big old traditional house to myself (although there were other desks). I can't comment on value for money because the University paid my bill. However, I don't think it's expensive.

There's free wi-fi but my room was right at the end of the building and I couldn't pick up any signal there. That wasn't a problem because there's a very pleasant and comfortable lobby right outside where I could.

Checkout was at 11, and I had no problems with people trying to throw me out earlier. My only quibble is that it would have been nice if they'd supplied some bottled water. As a visitor without a car or local knowledge I had to drink the tap water. As you can see, I'm struggling to find anything negative to say about this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homelovinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our stay at this historic retreat was a mixed bag. The accommodations were good, although the bath needs some updating. The breakfast was very good, but not inspired and the overall ambience of the resort was excellent. Our last day at the B & B was a disaster! The owner told us we had to check out earlier than the checkout time list on the website and brochure because he had another party ready to move in. When we informed the owner that check out time was listed as 11:00 on the website he simply stated that he owned the B & B and would do what he wanted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juano4900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After an unfortunate incident of overbooking, the owner offered a replacement night at a discount. I'm so glad I took him up on it! I stayed in the guest house, the bed was very comfortable, full kitchen and...what a breakfast! Fruit/yogurt/granola parfait, spinach/goat cheese/pepper quiche, fruit cup and a warm croissant. The breakfast area is charming and encourages conversation amongst guests. This will be our destination of choice when visiting our daughter at U of A, the Joesler is just minutes from campus. What a deal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgw313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Everything from the booking, to the checking-in, to the room, to the breakfasts was wonderful. What a charming B&B this was. My husband and I were in town for a wedding & long weekend, and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. The hospitality provided by Janos, the owner, was impeccable. He gave us excellent tourist advice for our non-wedding days, and his two puppies are adorable! The B&B provides five parking spots if you're renting a car, and we never had an issue with getting a spot. The location is very easy to find, thanks to the directions that Janos gave upon booking. My husband had to do some work while there (unfortunately), and he had no trouble at all linking into the free wifi. We stayed in The Rancheros room. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, there was a television with satellite if you want it - plus a DVD and VCR player - a bathroom with a tub, and a walk-out patio door. I'm happy to answer any questions about our stay should you have any.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ep6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was only at this b&b for around 7 hours (late arrival and early departure) but it was clean and comfy. I left before breakfast was served but it sure smelled great! I stayed in room 1, which was roomy with a cute little separate entrance to the courtyard. The bed was great! I think the room would be good for a longer stay, too. There was room for clothing storage and space to move around. For me, the best part was the location. I was in town to visit the medical center and it was really convenient to this inn. I'm pretty sure the price was food too, although work paid for my stay. I'd stay again if I go back to Tucson.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcking82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.1 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
0.5 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#52 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Adobe Rose Inn
Adobe Rose Inn
#9 of 49 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle"

Property: The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle"
Address: 1640 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85719-4313
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle" 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Joesler Historic Inn "La Posada del Valle" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing