We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B near Saguaro National Park West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“Great B&B near Saguaro National Park West”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Out of the way on an unpaved road, this B&B is a refreshing escape from glitzy resorts. Furnished with many Indonesian pieces and textiles, our room was large and the bath done in lovely tilework. A front patio for watching birds in the morning and a back patio for looking at the mountains in the evening, sharing with our family in the other rooms, were a welcome respite after a long hike. Our hosts were welcoming and outgoing but were there for us rather than in our face. Breakfast was served in the kitchen and a good combination of healthful foods. Coffee was available earlier in case your biological clock demanded it. If you are not looking for golf greens, swimming pools or casinos, this is the best place on earth.

Room Tip: There are three rooms together for sharing the patios if you have a large party and a remote site of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
74
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

If you're the kind of person who likes simple elegance, nature in its purest state, and multi-cultural hosts who are both delightful to talk to and discreet and self-effacing as the keepers of any paradise should be, you will LOVE the Crickethead Inn. The first time I made my way down the charming, saguaro-lined dirt road I found myself wondering where I was going and had doubts about where I might end up. Once this seasoned traveler passed through the beautiful garden and opened the magic door, he knew he was in one of those places that are rare jewels. Wayan and Mike make you feel completely at home. The rooms are beautifully and simply appointed. Wayan's breakfasts with flavors from her native Bali are amazing. Perhaps, however, the factor that makes this place utterly superlative is the feeling Wayan and Mike succeed in conveying that you are in your own home for a few days: comfort and beauty, smiles but no invasive talking, plenty of corners and haphazardly-strewn chairs on the patios and in the garden from which the visitor can contemplate the real protagonist of this show: the Sonoran Desert. Your hosts know this, and they allow you to experience it on your own, the way you would a sublime work of art, a piece of music floating out of a concert hall, or a dazzling landscape you unexpectedly come upon while lost somewhere in the desert. This is one of three or four places in the world of which I would say to a friend: "you gotta go there. Don't miss it!"

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

If you're looking for a unique experience this is it! Crickethead is set off the main road and backed up to Saguaro National Park. You can hike to the foothills right in the "back yard" or at the nearby park. The outdoor patios are a great place to relax and watch birds and javalinas come to enjoy a meal. In the bright starry nights you can listen to the coyotes howl. The guest rooms reflect Mike and Wayan's love of all things Bali. You are also welcome in the main house, and if you wish, Wayan may teach you how to play the saron gantung from her native Bali. Wayan concocts incredible breakfasts, and we enjoyed conversations with other guests each morning. Mike is a great host with considerable knowledge of things to see in the area. All in all and unexpected pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The bumpy dirt drive up to Crickethead is just a test to see if you are the sort of people who would enjoy this B&B. Our room was comfortable and beautiful with a brick floor, lovely fabrics, and carved woods. Towels and sheets have been dried outside in the Arizona sun. With a patio and a porch to sit out on, you could spend hours looking at the desert and wildlife (the Javelina had 2 new babies!) If the outdoors are a bit "untidy", it is easily overlooked because of the natural beauty and genuine kindness of the hosts. There is much to experience in the Tucson area, but we were happy to return each day to our "home" at Crickethead. There are good restaurants and groceries close by, but none as good as Crickethead breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyHein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Incredibly peaceful stay at the Crickethead-- only sounds were birds and coyotes! Walls are thick so you can't hear your neighbors, bed comfortable, lovely decor and fluffy towels. The hosts are friendly and interesting and we enjoyed the breakfast conversations with them and other guests, even though we're not usually B&B/morning people. Many outdoor areas to sit and relax, a fridge for guest use, and a nearby Safeway for snacks and beer. Affordable too, unlike a lot of the places in the Tucson area. Wish we had stayed more than two nights!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCArchivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

If you are a world traveler or just world minded and love nature, this is an ideal place for you. Hosts are amazing with firm knowledge of area and events while location is simply incomparable. Watch javalinas eat as you sip your morning coffee, observe birds, listen to coyotes..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washingtonmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were looking for a desert adventure and also had a cultural experience. The hosts,
Mike and Wayan are friendly,engaging and very accommodating. The rooms were comfy and breakfasts were yummy and filled with entertaining conversation. Lots of desert wildlife - with the desert and the Saguaro National Park right out your door! Crickethead Inn is a wonderful, unique place. We are from northern Minnesota and would stay here again in a flash. Thank you, Mike and Wayan, and best wishes on your yearly pilgrimages to Indonesia!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC1979_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
782 reviews
8.8 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
22.4 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Cat Mountain Lodge
Cat Mountain Lodge
#4 of 46 in Tucson
129 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.9 mi away
Casa Tierra
Casa Tierra
#18 of 46 in Tucson
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9480 W Picture Rocks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9646
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados so you can book your Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing