We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our 10-day trip to AZ couldn't have culminated better than staying with Mike and Wayan at the Crickethead Inn. We became fast friends and truly had a great time hanging out with them and enjoying the desert hikes, breath-taking sunsets and gorgeous sunrises.

We stayed in the separate building with two guest rooms. Stepping into our guest room brings us to the richness of Balinese art and stepping out, to the giant saguaros, cooing birds, nimble coyotes and a rich Arizona desert wildlife right outside of our doorstep. Our bed is a Balinese canopy bed with intricate wood carvings and the room is full of Balinese art of various forms - Indonesian shadow puppets, Batik clothing/drapes/sarongs, Balinese earthenware & furniture, Balinese local art pieces, etc. Crickethead brings you to exotic Bali without paying the $$$ for it while enjoying the richness of the Saguaro National Forest right outside of their doorstep. Talk about a deal!:-)

Before we found Crickethead, we considered booking the more "upscale" B&B's in the area. But, they were huddled together and didn't quite have the unique, homey character of Crickethead. The initial big pull when we decided to book Crickethead was its isolation from other B&B's, it's grounds bordering the Saguaro National Forest, the richness of wildlife in the desert. We got them all and more.

Mike has traveled to Bali for at least close to 2 decades and Wayan is Balinese, so we learned so much about Balinese society, norms, culture and the arts. When my husband and I travel to other countries, we do not buy souvenirs for nothing meant to us beyond being souvenirs. But, after learning so much of Balinese culture and arts from knowledgeable hosts, we are able to place a special significance in the unique cultural items in their gift shop. So, we splurged and bought a lot of choice Ramayana and Mahabharata puppets (we just love these puppets!), sets of cricket-themed Balinese hand-made earthen wares and we have yet to order a Batik cloth and Balinese art we didn't get to buy.

My husband and I travel a lot and this is definitely one of our most memorable travels. Mike and Wayan, thank you so much and it's good to be in touch!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisEarthWeLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

Beautiful location for hiking and experiencing the saguaro natl park. Awoke to coyotes this morning. Found a meteorite on a hike up the dry wash. There are more pieces there. Black, very heavy, and magnetic. Great hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AF_Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We took a chance on the Crickethead Inn for a week-long holiday last February on the basis of internet buzz referring to it as out of the way, rustic and exciting. It exceeded all our expectations. Tranquil desert setting. Endless hikes from your doorstep. Coyotes serenading you under a blanket of stars. Wonderfully comfy sleep. Superb breakfast with great coffee. And if you are really lucky you may get to participate in an authentic Indonesian musical ensemble. Repeat as necessary. This is hospitality from two people who love what they do and do it very well. All just a short drive to the mall for supplies and only slightly farther for Tucson's better restaurants come dinner time. You could spend weeks exploring the environs and not get bored. Two tips: get there before dark your first day if you are directionally challenged like myself (a few twists and turns on that road) and buy at least a couple of cricket coffee mugs before you leave, they'll help remind you a little of paradise when you return home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Arrived at the Crickethead Inn at 11:00 pm, so I did not see anything of the surrounding area. Awoke the next morning and stepped out the back door to the patio to a magnificent scene of the desert! Mike and Wayan are perfect host and make you feel at home. Breakfasts are a panoply of great food cooked by Wayan. The Inn is right next door to the Saguaro National Park so if you are a hiker and/or a photographer you will be in heaven!

The room I stayed in was clean and the bed was great. Shower had good pressure making for a great shower.

A real treat! Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaynLarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We LOVED this place. The location is terrific, the price is VERY good, the breakfasts are wonderful, the place is so well designed; it is just beautiful. Our hosts, Michael and Wayan, were tremendously kind and fun and so very helpful. We stayed there regularly twice a month for nearly a year when we had to travel to Tucson on business and we just couldn't have had a better and more helpful experience. Stephen Harrod Buhner

Room Tip: there are great rooms, large and beautiful, along the side of the main house (very private) or very...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenBuhner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We just made our second visit to Crickethead Inn. If you're looking for a fancy resort in the center of town, this is not for you. But if you love hiking, wildlife, solitude, sunsets over the saguaros, and terrific hosts, the Crickethead Inn is the place to be. Mike and Wayan are wonderful hosts, sharing their home and patio with guests. They are happy to tell you about interesting places to go or eat or alert you when the javelinas have showed up at the watering hole!! (We loved seeing them!) You really feel at home there. In addition, they make terrific breakfasts. The rooms are spacious and decorated in Balinese art. And although the inn is on the edge of town and a bit out of the way, there is a huge grocery store nearby (get the Fry's card for your keyring and you'll save some $$ there) and several good, reasonably priced restaurants. You can always put your groceries in the guest refrigerator for a nice little snack while watching the sunset over a bottle of wine.... We will definitely recommend this place to our friends! Thanks Mike and Wayan!

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita, where rooms are a little higher priced than the ones in the main house. Hav...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fusili_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My friend and I recently stayed here, not knowing what to expect. Because the price was so reasonable we did not have high hopes. Wow! Were we wrong! I felt we had landed in another country, or perhaps another planet.

How to describe it? Maybe elegantly funky? The hosts, Mike and Wayan, could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. The room was very nice, the breakfast wonderful, the scenery fantastic, the solitude very relaxing, the flowers and wildlife enchanting, and the terrific blend of Indonesian and southwestern cultures was both educational and intoxicating.

If you're looking for a 5-star experience where you will be pampered, don't go here! There is no fitness center (but fascinating trails to hike), spa, pool, room service or bar. However, if you would love to experience a very unusual setting with incredible cacti and other flowering plants, javelinas, deer, coyotes, a large variety of birding opportunities, star-gazing, and a great, laid-back B&B, this is the place for you. What a fantastic spot to explore. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank majorsigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
785 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
9.9 mi away
Cat Mountain Lodge
Cat Mountain Lodge
#5 of 46 in Tucson
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
14.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.9 mi away
Casa Tierra
Casa Tierra
#18 of 46 in Tucson
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9480 W Picture Rocks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9646
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados so you can book your Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing