We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful early dinner and happy hour!!!”
Review of Janos - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Janos
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Via Palomita
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful early dinner and happy hour!!!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have never had anything less than a good experience at the J Bar, and last night's was no exception. The service was prompt and friendly, the views were breathtaking, and the food was scrumptious. Our favorite, the calamari appetizer, was fresh, tender, and large enough for two of us ... and we are not "nibblers"! The J - Dogs were incredibly low priced and delicious, and the J - Burger, which we had never tasted before, lived up to our expectations. We are so sorry that this restaurant will soon be closing. For a few last tastes of the wonderful fare up at La Paloma, we will be visiting the J Bar's sister establishment, Janos, next week!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChimeneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    8
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sorry that J Bar and Janos are closing soon”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I really liked the happy hour specials - half priced Margaritas 5:30-6:30 pm. I liked all the food - even the $2.75 happy hour "J Dog" was a treat! Ask for outdoor seating and get there before sunset! Our waiter said that the restaurant is closing at the end of the month, hopefully the Westin will find another good restaurant to occupy this space.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank momof3girlsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over Rated Over Priced Meal”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The title of my review says it all. There are so many great restaurants located within a few miles that provide a bigger bang for the buck!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank awacsacft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Janos is a very innovative chef, I loved his place down at the Stevens House but this restaurant at La Paloma is just as good. The food is French/Southwestern. The adjacent J Bar is lively and features tapas. Recommended. Go if you want to experience one of the best restaurants in Tucson as they will close both restaurants at the La Paloma resort by the end of next month.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikkiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“J dog”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Happy hour j dog---a gourmet southwest topped hotdog at a happy hour price. Loved it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing