We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beer selection around”
Review of 1702

1702
Ranked #246 of 1,995 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best beer selection around”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been going to 1702 a few times a month for a couple of years now, the beer selection here is phenomenal. They have about 50 taps. I have certainly been to places with more than 50 taps; however, I have been to very very few places across the U.S. with as good of a selection as 1702. You aren't going to find tap space wasted with the likes of bud light lime, coors light, miller, etc... In fact, you very seldom even see many year round beers from micro brewers. They carry primarily the seasonal and special release stuff from micro brewers from all across the U.S. and from some of the best breweries in the world. In addition, they have a pretty good bottle selection as well. The food menu is limited, but it is very fresh and very good. They have pizza that is out of this world, and the slices are huge. There are tons of toppings, sauces, etc... to pick from to create your perfect slice. In addition, they have salads, calzones, hummus, and darn good wings. They make their wing sauces in house. In addition, Eric makes some really good home made ice cream as well, and there are always some very unique flavors. In the past, service could be a little slow, but they have certainly worked on this and things are quicker than they used to be. The place can get very crowded, so expect a wait, particularly for larger parties on Friday or Saturday evening. It is worth every bit of the wait though!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“might be best pizza I've ever eaten!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Did not want to do a wine festival, so we searched the internet for craft beers. Excellent choice to come here. Pizza is most likely in the top 3 ever, anywhere. Whole table agreed. Perfectly crispy crust, fresh toppings, we had the Italia, fresh spinach and freshly chopped tomatoes.
Huge beer selection, kept changing though, so sometimes one we choose was not longer available. So many, so hard to keep track of which we had already tried, would help to bring a small notebook! Or if they put the menu inside of something you could use a dry erase marker on?
Our waitress was super knowledgeable and helpful, she knew all the beers, pretty impressive. It was a little hard to have a conversation across the table, very loud in there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You need and get your own pizza cutter! School's out go now!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Usually crowed with Univ. of AZ students because of the great pizza and wide craft beer selection. School is out for a couple weeks until Summer school so now is your chance to fjind a parking spot and a seat. Pizza Cutter comes with a fork because you need to cut down the large slice(s) you get and for the salad you would probably add. Noisy when crowded, nice cafe styple when not so crowded. Go for the pizza and not worry over the interior furnishings.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cactuspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Beer, best service, best pizza,”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I've held off on reviewing The Place @ 1702. because I don't want this place to get too crowded before I arrive. Honestly, this is THE PLACE, little known, mostly by word of mouth, top quality rotating craft beer, so if you like Spudwizer go elsewhere, Nano brewery on site, call ahead for special, imperials, quality all around, good tasting pizza, home made ice cream, I've heard they make there own cheese for their pizza, good service, but don't expect valet parking or someone to kiss your a$$, IT'S NOT A 5-STAR RESTAURANT. Eric, Ty, Austin and hostess Lauren, are very good managers. We come here all the time as soon as we drive into Tucson, wished we lived here. Fun place, good to bring friends, They may have their own growlers soon, waiting for a AZ bill to pass, not a chain, so a little small so arrive before lunch or Happy hr. or arrive am and stay all day, only leave when we drive into town! I'd work here for just beer and pizza and maybe a few coins, IT'S THAT GOOD. Relax enjoy the views of Speedway Blvd. and U of A, BEAR DOWN!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kameljakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Parking is Difficult, but Pizza is Great!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great Pizza, (we had half Vegetarian and half meat something) and lots of beer to choose from. We tried to park in the lot by the 7-11, but no spots available for a large truck, so we went around back to one of the side streets in the University area, and paid for street parking. It was worth the walk for sure!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondeegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1702 also viewed

 

Been to 1702? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing