We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Tucson's nicer resort (not the nicest)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of Tucson's nicer resort (not the nicest)”
Reviewed April 12, 2006

The Westward Look is ideal if you want to stay at a resort on the outskirts of Tucson to enjoy the mountain views, hiking, and lying by the pool. Rooms are huge but need a remodel. There are a large number of dining options, and the resort provides live entertainment most nights. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were looking for this type of trip (complete relaxation). If, however, I wanted to do more Tucson activities, I might stay closer to town, like at the Arizona Inn.

Additionally, the Westward Look is probably in the top 5 for Tucson resorts, but it's not quite as nice as the Westin La Paloma or the Loew's Ventana Resort. Those two are slightly more luxurious.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeannch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    887
    477
    183
    62
See reviews for
752
944
137
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We stayed at the Westward Look over spring break 2006. We were thrilled with our choice. The housekeepers and front desk quickly and cheerfully answered our requests for extra linens, an extra refrigerator and cutlery. The large suite-size room gave our 5-year-old plenty of room to spread out her toys.
The landscaping and grounds of the resort are beautiful. The paths are well marked with the names of plants, rocks, minerals and animals. We saw a lot of lovely birds, the ubiquitous rabbits and bats. Had we known more about the layout of the grounds, we would have requested a room near the lower pool because there is a large grassy area where our daughter could have played. There are no large grassy areas closer to the main building where we were.
We only ate at the less-formal of the two restaurants. The menu was fine, but limited for vegetarians.
Tucson is a great family destination with a lot to do. We fully packed our 5 days there and could have done more. The Westward Look is a great base to see it all from.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toomuchresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2006

My husband, nine-year old son and I stayed at the Westward Look while in Tucson for White Sox spring training. This resort gets high marks for the friendliness of staff, wonderful grounds, fabulous views and a nice pool with a basketball net. The only downer was the one night we ate at the Lookout Grille; they had live music which was pitched way too loud and drowned out all conversation. Fortunately, there are lots of excellent, casual restaurants near the Westward Look, so you're not forced to eat there. My son and I took a one-hour trail ride--his first time on horseback. It was great. A wonderful, easy, scenic ride with well-trained horses. Perfect for beginners.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awaintroob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

My wife and I spent three days at the Westward Look in mid-March. It was a wonderful stay and we wished it had been longer. The staff and facilities are wonderful and a good deal at the price.

Helpful?
5 Thank vaquero viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2006

What a wonderful and relaxing vacation week at the Westward Look! We visit Tucson once a year and I admit I was a bit apprehensive as we normally stay on the NE side of town but this resort was just what we were looking for. Relaxed friendly atmosphere and less "formal" than the other 5 star resorts we have stayed at in Tucson. We asked for a fridge and rollaway and got them right away. Our room was huge and felt more like a little condo than a resort room. My husband and daughter loved running each morning and enjoyed the exercise room. I walked the hiking trail and watched the many roadrunners and hummingbirds. I recommend staying by the lower pool overlooking the quaint chef's garden if you want to be away from "where the action is" at the main pool area. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2006

We stayed at the Westward Look during Christmas week; it was our third stay at this resort.

The setting against near the foot of the Catalina mountains is lovely, the landscape is well planned and well maintained and right in line with the "lush desert" landscape of Tucson.

The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. There is a nature trail around the perimiter of the grounds (very nice!), the pools are not huge or dramatic but there are several and they are heated in winter and very nice. It's nice to relax in the pool or jacuzzi and just enjoy the scenery around you.. especially at sunrise or sunset.

Service is always very good. There are two restaurants. We have tried the more moderately priced one at it was OK. There is no shortage of good restaurants around Tucson, so no big deal.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sd_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2006

[Just as an aside, I can't help but think that the person from New York who complained of "dumpsters" all over the place was referring to the resort's compliance with Tucson's very advanced recycling program. The resort has small, unobtrusive "bullet" trashcans for paper, glass, etc. Perhaps this is what so disturbed our friend from the Big Apple.]
My friend and I stayed at the Westward Look last weekend. The room was nicely done, had a huge bathroom, the minibar basket from hell (very tempting) and a balcony looking at an open area...hearing the coyote howl late at night was definitely a treat. The front desk staff were just a little on the unhelpful side for my taste. Used the spa for massages...very nice, although they could use a more formal relaxation area, rather than the area adjacent to the spa's desk. Didn't care for the rather "exposed" swimming pool near the front of the hotel since I don't have the perfect body, but luckily found the "lower pool", which was much more private and relaxing...it could use a jacuzzi like the upper pool has, though. Something that not everyone may notice is the charming original house around which the resort was built, with ocotillo cactus for a ceiling. Also probably little-known is a large patio area upstairs, out of the front of the hotel...the view, especially at sunset, is incredible--I would most definitely use this for a private function.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank ElsieSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
3.7 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
3.1 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa

Property: Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Address: 245 East Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85704 (Formerly Westward Look Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#11 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#27 Family Hotel in Tucson
#28 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Look Hotel Tucson
Westward Look Tucson
Westward Look Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing