We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great golf resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great golf resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Lodge on an annual golf trip for over 20 years. Overall this place is great. years ago, they would welcome you with a gift in your room, and have fresh baked chocolate chip cookies on your counter everynight, however not anymore...bummer. The staff is fantastic, there are people working there that have been there for years. The bar has a nice menu and a good selection of beers and spirits. The main dinning has a good menu and specials.

Now the downside....the food service is generally slow, know that going in. The rooms need an upgrade, the furniture is old and dated, the a/c filters need to be replaced more often, and the carpeting is a little beat up.

None of the above would stop me from coming back or recommeding this resort to friends and family. The good far outways the minor flaws.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    135
    71
    34
    13
See reviews for
168
192
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

After we got this hotel by bidding on priceline and then reading the reviews I was worried I was going to have a substandard experience. I had thought I would get Lowes, a sister property just up the road. People mentioned the rooms were dark and depending on where you are that would be true. You will want to book a mountain/golf view. IF you bid and get the rooms facing the tennis courts as we did and are dark, we offered more money and were shown another room we just loved. All the other criicism seems unfounded. We are used to 4 star resorts all over the world and this one was clean, well equipped, great food at the restaurants, attentive staff. The rooms are enormous, actually like a one bedroom condo. While the kitchen doesn't have much equipment for cooking, a sign on the counter says to ask and you will be provided with all you need. It is true there is a $24 resort fee which ALL 4 star resorts have but you get way more than anywhere else for it since it includes gratuities except for restaurant and includes valet parking, newpaper, luggage help, great wifi, maybe other things I don't now recall. I was told that some folks who were upset by the resort fee said they would write a rotten review and thus there is a mix of reviews. You can use Lowes pool by asking to take the shuttle. You do have to ask. We were there in March, lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marillynlansing_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Yes, this place could use some updating, however we felt the value was very good. Nice suite - kitchen, dining, living area and one bedroom with 2 queen beds. Nothing fancy, but our main objective is birdwatching so we are out on the trails, not in the room. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom very spacious and nice. We were on the first floor with a patio tucked away at the edge of the golf course. Some scrub-like shrubbery was in close view so we were able to check out some cool bird species from the patio. We ordered room service one night and ate in the bar/grill area the other - excellent meals both times. Service was friendly and prompt, room was clean and well-appointed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shughes1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Lodge via a bid on Priceline but were pleased to get a four-star, five-dollar sign place. As I typically do when traveling with a child (given Priceline's default reservation for two adults), I called the Lodge within ten days of the reservation (and this more than 10 weeks before the reservation) to make sure we'd have a room with two beds. No problem, I was assured. They looked up my reservation and said we had a Loft Suite with two levels and three beds. All set. Except that . . . when we arrived, no such thing was available. They seemed surprised we were a party of three as only a room with one king bed was available. So our son slept on the hide-a-bed sofa for our stay. Not great. The suite itself was large but tired and smelled a bit stale. I counted over 20 spots on the walls where plaster had chipped away (fist-sized spots) but that had not been repaired but only re-painted. The plaster over the outside of our door was so badly decayed you could see the metal strip from the drywall panel. The interior of the elevator looked to have been designed by the same guy who did the set for the Mike Douglas Show in the 70's. This place is tired and did not do right by us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The chef at the lodge does a beautiful job....we were at a banquet there and thoroughly enjoyed the food....well prepared, nicely served and in a lovely setting. This is a great venue for meetings or, this case, an alumni event for the institution we worked for before retirement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a 4 night stay that didn't start well. Fire alarm in our room went off about bedtime so we called we called for help. Maintenance showed up but really didn't know much more about it than I did and didn't speak very good English. As you might have guess it went off again so they let us sleep in different room the first night. A pain but workable. Next day maintenance replaces both fire alarms. The setting of the lodge is nice but it is way over due for some updating. I agree with other review on this subject. There is a resort fee of $24 a night and they add 20% to every meal tab which tells me they need the money to stay afloat. We go to Tucson every February and I'm guessing we won't be back to Lodge until we here some positive feedback about updating, etc.

Room Tip: Good view of valley on south side and good view of the mountain on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I did a bid on Priceline and this is where they put me. I was blown away by the service, everyone was extremely nice/helpful everywhere we turned. You can tell the rooms are a bit older but they were still in fine condition, couldn't hear the neighbors and they were HUGE. We were in town to rock climb and mountain bike and it made for a great launch point. Didn't golf, but the course looked amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chill188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
19.0 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
4.0 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Property: Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Address: 6200 N Club House Ln, Tucson, AZ 85750-1399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#40 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing