We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Nearby Hotels
$125
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson Airport(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$88
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
Westin.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
$178
Hilton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$295
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Tucson National Resort(Tucson)
$199
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
510
188
106
48
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
510
188
106
48
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegolf triploft suitegreat golfresort pooltennis courtsrooms are hugebar grillpro shopfull kitchenin great shapesmall kitchenplay golfmountain viewbeautiful propertytucson areagolfers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 867 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2007

My boyfriend took me to Tucson for my 40th birthday. I lived in Tucson for close to 20 years and did not know the Lodge at Ventana existed. I had ran by the gates a number of times while living in Tucson but thought it was an apartment complex. Imagine my surprise when I found out it was a hotel/resort! The room was incredible, the staff was more than helpful. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and the hiking at Sabino Canyon was GREAT! We had a wonderful time ... in August no less! and are already booking our stay for January. I can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DingALingFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We were so happy with our stay here. It helped that we had a wonderful free upgrade that gave us a great view! The room was huge and had a fridge, stove, and dishwasher. The service was amazing. The staff was prompt to respond to our needs. Everything was conveniently located as well. Self-parking was near the room.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bamboo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

This place was fabulous! relaxing, kicked back, hiking trails nearby, right on the golf course.
even if you can't afford to golf, it's a great destination.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge for our anniversary. Needless to say the place did not live up to its web page. The room was dark and freezing cold and we could not control the temperature in the room. The pool was as warm as most bath tubs and difficult to get in and out of for those who are mobility challenged. Plus, a local swim club was holding practice while we were there. Maintenance work disturbed our rest and recreation. We did not get what we had made reservations for and were told there was nothing else available. We had booked in advanced. The main gate did not have our name on their reservation list for the day of arrival and I had to prove we had reservations there to the gate guard. The signage to find the place did not agreed with what was on the web page so we ended up driving around to find the entrance. The refrigerator in the room looked like it hadn't been defrosted in ages and worked poorly. The furniture, except for the beds, was uncomfortable and looked like it came from a local thrift store. Housekeeping started knocking on the door at 8 in the morning so put out the do not disturb sign. The pool was located almost a quarter mile from the lodge proper and really offered little in amenities. The so called CD player in the room was an off brand and poor quality. I don't know where they took the pictures of the rooms on their web pages but ours didn't even come close. You only have one option for eating there and it has limited service. Plan on going into town for meals or up to Ventana Canyon resort for meals. Although you can cook in your room plan on bringing everything you need including dish soap. Pray they restock the complimentary coffee and tea in the morning.
It wasn't all bad. The shower was in the bathroom was great. However we froze when we stepped out.
I doubt we will ever go back there. My high hopes for surprising my wife for our anniversary ended up being somewhat of a nightmare after the experience. We actually looked forward to leaving. What does that tell you.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Clinician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

We chose the Lodge at Ventana for our recent stay in Tucson for three basic reasons - the rooms looked great on the hotel website, the mountainside location with good views of the city lights/surrounding mountains was appealing, and the price was right ($89/night, plus resort fee). We booked directly with the hotel (or so I thought; apparently it was through the central reservations line, via the number listed on the hotel website).

As indicated in the website, the rooms are indeed quite large. We were a little disappointed to see that there is absolutely no decor (and certainly nothing vaguely southwestern); everything was extremely clean and comfortable, but the room was almost stark (surprising, as the public areas were very nicely decorated). We definitely had plenty of space, and particularly enjoyed having the kitchen and the nice sitting area. In addition, it was extremely quiet at night - we did not hear a bit of noise from the internal corridors or from outside at any point during our stay.

The room we were finally given had a wonderful of the mountains, but this only came after a decent amount of wrangling with the front desk staff (who remained extremely friendly and accomodating throughout). When we booked, we had requested a view, which we were assured we would have - and at the $89 rate. We were therefore very surprised when, on arrival, we were told that we would 'sort of' have a view overlooking the city lights (which in fact is a view of the parking lot and trees, with a few city lights visible if you are on the second floor - definitely not the nice panoramic view we'd been expecting). We were then told that if we wanted a 'view' room, we would have to pay $50 extra per night. After voicing our dismay, they agreed to give us a complementary upgrade to a view room. Our excitement was a bit short-lived, though, as the view proved to be of a grassy knoll (we literally could not see the sky from the room at all). The very nice staff person who accompanied us offered to see if any other rooms were available, with the result being that we were shown to a different room with a phenomenal view of the mountains, with a large private balcony. This was even better than we'd expected, so it all ended very well. That said, we felt that the 'view' - and any related charges - should have been represented more accurately when we booked. This may or may not be important to you, but if so, you may wish to call the Lodge directly to discuss.

2. As other reviewers have indicated, you should not expect the 'resort amenities' that other area hotels may offer. This was not a problem for us, with one minor exception - the only way to access a computer, unless you've brought your own, is to go up the road to the Loews to use their business center. This is not meant as a complaint, only as a point of information if you plan to stay at the Lodge.

We had breakfast several times at the restaurant, which was extremely good in terms of food and service, and very reasonably priced. There is also a Starbucks a mile or so away, and numerous lunch/dinner options (the dinner menu at the Lodge looked good; we just never quite managed to be there at dinnertime).

All in all, a good stay at a very good price.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Elenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews