We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful hotels in Tucson”
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a dude ranch. Don't expect ultramodern conveniences but do expect comfort, service and beauty. I love to just walk the grounds. Hike the area and enjoy the beauty. My daughter's wedding was here and I've been to several other weddings here. The most beautiful spot for a ceremony at sunset. It's also a great place for a family vacation. The kids will love it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntzann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 683 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Upon arrival you will be overwhelmed by the sight of this lovely ranch. Beautiful landscape on the property and a backdrop of the Rincon mountains and Suaguai National Park, cacti as far as the eye can see. It is a sensory overload.

First point of contact is the friendly staff who checked us in and allowed us to enjoy the activities while our room was being prepared. We were lucky to arrive on Easter Sunday and enjoyed a buffet that was sooooooooooo good, a pasta bar made to order, three types hot meat, unlimited salad bar and dessert to die for! So tasty with so many options you simply cannot decide. It was a true culinary delight.

Next onto the walk ride. The ranch is very well organized and we were put on a horse immediately and luckily my friend and I were the only ones on the ride so we got a private guide "Mattie" cute as a button, we noticed she was limping and she mentioned that she fell into a cactus earlier that day but was still riding with a smile on her face and didn't complain once as you could clearly see she was uncomfortable sitting lopsided on the horse, what a trooper!

Next was the water aerobics class and our teacher was Amy who was very nice and explained the class well and as a fitness instructor myself I found her class to be appropriate for everyone in attendance, her aqua class was a mix of easy with options to challenge for more of a workout and her yoga class was very relaxing and had a great flow with lots of positive reinforcement. The evening program was a Rattlesnake demonstration which was very exciting with a fabulous presenter who educated us about Rattlesnakes and really did a fine job clearing up all the misconceptions about snakes in general. We learned a lot in a short amount of time and sure enough we encountered a Rattlesnake later in the trip and did not fear just left him alone like the man said "let em be". After the snake demo we were off to the Saloon for Prickly Pear Margaritas. The drinks were fantastic and so was the bottomless popcorn. The bartender Lisa was also very sweet and fun to hang out with. Then comes dinner and I am still full from lunch, it's tough on the ranch but I am determined to fit some more good stuff in.

OK all the above is just day 1.

Tying to wrap this up short is impossible. I'll try... Great staff... Amy,Leanna, Juan & Phil front desk super friendly. Peggie at the dinning hall sweet as can be, she is what every employer wants! Her hospitality was unbelievable, she deserves a raise and I loved that I saw her hiking on her day off, that is a true ranch loving woman, so nice so have met her. Tim the mountain bike guide was perfect, he took us on a ride that was challenging enough for our skill level but not too much and he never put us into a cactus and for that I will be forever grateful. Mountain Biking was amazing! Rich for hiking and fishing, loved him, he was fun and gave us enough information to appreciate the desert but didn't overwhelm us with too much talk, he was just right and I appreciate that he had a second guide with him who needed to take some guest back as they were not up to the climb to Wild Horse Canyon. No one was left behind and the tour did go on for those up to the challenge. We also hiked with Virginia who was also very nice and was mindful of the guest, she noticed some young girls wearing inappropriate shoes and asked if they would be comfortable going with the group that was taking a trail with less rugged terrain than ours and they did go with the other group and were appreciative of the suggestion. Darrel tennis Coach was also very skilled and professional, he had a lot of guest to juggle and spent enough time with everyone on technique and form while we got a good workout, playing in rotation and this clinic was great for all skill levels.

Accommodations- Perfect simple room with a beautiful view, atrium lawn, fountain, lounge chairs, and a great place to take a break between activities.
Activities- There is something for everyone. Horse Penning was a highlight (no experience necessary) a fun equestrian sport rounding up cattle. Got a 3rd place ribbon.
Dive in Movie was pretty cool. Kids enjoyed being in a heated pool with a big screen playing Lone Ranger.
Food- My only complaint is I gained 6.5 lbs over 4 days but enjoyed every bite, especially the cowboy cookout & breakfast ride (we chose bikes to breakfast)
Spa great massage and relaxing way to end the trip.

This is a great place for anyone to enjoy the simple or complex way of a true cowboy living! I loved every minute of this 5 star vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whosgoingtobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were not sure about taking a "non riding" family on a dude ranch vacation, but wanted to experience something different. It turned out to be a BIG hit with all! From day 1 the kids (8 and 10) LOVED their experience in the kids camp, and Mom and Dad really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere, REALLY great food, fabulous scenery and amazing riding. We really enjoyed the "breakfast ride" where we rode up to the old homestead for a home cooked breakfast outdoors, and also the amazing evening BBQs in the Cottonwoods location twice a week for dinner. The evening entertainers there were fun with the cowboy dancing a fire lasso and line dancing with Melissa. We can also recommend the "Adventure ride" which was AWESOME, a 3 hour trip up to the high mountains, with a great guide and amazing scenery as we twisted our way up the mountain. Its not for the timid or scared, but such a great feeling of accomplishment on our return. We also enjoyed the evening lectures at 8.30 by local artisans. The Navajo weaver talk was really wonderful. The pool was lovely, the Doghouse Saloon was charming in terms of atmosphere and Lisa's margaritas, and the whole place was extremely friendly and welcoming. The kids program was totally great for our two girls. Lots of structure and events, but free time to socialize and get to know new friends. Lisa the lead counsellor is excellent and all the girls were very friendly and helpful. The wranglers were polite, patient, well trained and kind to us "newbies" and gave us alot of confidence in riding out and getting to the next level of expertise. By the end we were on the intermediate rides and enjoying them. On our last day, the kids were crying to stay and we felt like heros having given them an awesome spring break. We will be back - thanks TVR

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA26NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I had a great time at the ranch and I wish I could give it four stars but unfortunately because of a few major glitches I cannot.
The Pros:
- friendly staff
- clean property
- great hiking
- nice horseback riding
- plenty of kids activities during the day
- above average food; quite tasty actually

The Cons:
- only 2 kids size bikes available for biking. Really?
We're here on spring break and there are well over 75 kids at the ranch!
- very uncomfortable beds. We were promised a temperpedic mattress
topper but the management never delivered.
- no extra pillows available.
- very little to do at night. We would have enjoyed more entertainment or activities
in the evening but the ranch basically shuts down at 8pm.

Overall for the price we paid, which was top dollar $$ for one of the best rooms (#70)
we expected more in terms of room comfort and available activities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cree8iv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My teenage daughter and I returned to Tanque Verde Ranch during our spring break. We were delighted to return to such a wonderful place! To our delighted surprise, the ranch grounds had been spruced up, new management in place and an overall feeling of well-being permeated the place. This was our 9th trip (I think) and it was the best of times! The head wrangler and his staff are amazing! Hannah, at the spa, is an excellent massage therapist. Everyone did their utmost to make our stay as pleasant as possible. My daughter toured the University of Arizona while we were there. The car service TVR hired for us was top notch. The food was awesome (this used to be the weakest link)! We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Love Javelina Heights and Mi Casa, Su Casa among others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy Burnette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I took our two older children (21, 18) to the ranch for their spring break. We really enjoyed our time there, except for some housekeeping issues that, as one reviewer noted, should never have happened at a resort of such stature. Unfortunately, our requests to have the housekeeping issues resolved were received politely by the front desk staff (Juan is exceptional) but not much was done to correct the problem for us, which became a days-long annoyance.
With that said, the ranch has wonderful qualities which will be foremost in our minds for days to come. The food is fantastic and the dining room staff superb; the scenery is unbelievable; the hiking was beautiful; from tennis, to swimming in the beautiful pool, to golfing in nearby Tucson, everyone was happily busy; and the charm of the ranch cannot be beat. A good time was had by all. I would say, however, that the day we chose to go riding was a bit of a disappointment. Many people signed up to ride that day, in various programs, so there was a lot of waiting around and confusion. The wranglers seemed a bit annoyed with the group that day, but I do understand that they are in charge of everyone's safety and might be anxious about that. In general though, we all thought the wranglers' snapping at people made our ride lose its luster.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJMJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We celebrated a very special birthday for my wife over 4 days at Tanque Verde. There were 12 of us (6 adults, 6 children) covering 3 generations, with the two youngest being 5 years old. The hotel picked us up at the airport, promptly delivered us to the hotel where the front desk staff was expecting us. We were given 4 connecting rooms that allowed us to have a wonderful family reunion. There were multiple opportunities for horseback riding, with rides and lessons for riders of all experience, except for the most experienced, expert riders who were not allowed to ride the horses faster than a lope. The wranglers are very experienced and very helpful and ultra-safety minded. The Team Penning ride, in which teams of 4-5 riders move cows into pens or inside cones, was great fun. Biking through the catcus forrest, fishing in the small pond, and swimming in their nicely heated pools were other highlights. The food was plentiful, good but not outstanding, The staff were really friendly and helpful, and were very accomodating to our requests. All-in-all, it was a wonderful way to spend a special vacation with the family. It was expensive, but worth it. Also, we were very lucky as the weather was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlennB650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
29.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
807 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,003 reviews
17.8 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
10.9 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#11 of 129 in Tucson
798 reviews
14.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $160 - $882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Visit Barbados, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Splitty and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing