We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th time at ranch and will not be our last!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod
2 reviews
“4th time at ranch and will not be our last!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The ranch offers families a chance to reconnect and relax while horseback riding in one of the most beautiful spots. The food at the ranch is delicious. The wranglers are so accommodating and knowledgable. Many of them remember us by name! The kids program is the best I've seen. Jonathan, the head wrangler, does a great job making the rides enjoyable for all riding abilities. I am here at this moment and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodKaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    90
    36
    22
    23
See reviews for
274
142
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My hubby and I spent 3 nights here in Feb and had a terrific time. We were there exclusively for the trail riding and hiking (me ride-hub hike and ride) so we chose the a la carte style of "Dude Ranch" visiting (see their web site) and found it reasonably priced for what we got. Our room (only $99 bucks a day) 2 rides a day and 1 to 2 meals per day were much less expensive that going full-on usage. This ranch has been in business for many years and they have the whole experience down. There were lots of families (with kids), extended families and groups of friends who were on their multiple visit so that certainly says a lot for the services and many activities available. We did a breakfast ride, lunch ride and sunset ride together and all were great. I did a couple more loping rides which were exhilarating. They take excellent care of their horses (a MUST for me) and have an enormous herd--160 or so head. Seldom do we city folk have an opportunity to see and enjoy so many animals...great fun! The meals we had were very good and the selections extensive and delicious. The resort is fairly close to town so visits to the University area, other parts of town and alternative eating opportunities are pretty easy. We also visited the Saguaro National Park (Western section) which is not to be missed although just riding in the ranch's surrounding hills gives you a similar visual experience. All in all I would highly recommend this Ranch for couples interested in an active vacay and families with kids!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HollywoodBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Having visited the Tanque Verde Ranch on a number of previous occasions we thought it could not get better, but it has. Once again we were so impressed with the size and comfort of our 'Casita' now equipped with the very latest WiFi Radios. The riding was wonderful with Head Wrangler Jonathan (and assistant Karen) and a most impressive and competent team of young (and very pretty) Wrangleresses made sure our riding was safe, interesting and exciting. Darryl the Tennis Pro was always willing to play and teach at the same time and possess an encyclopaedic knowledge and library of film music to keep you amused between rally's. The dining room under the attentive care of Brenna and wonderful creations of Head Chef Ben turns out fabulous (and plentiful) meals which would not be out of place in a very 'up market' Restaurant. Complimented as always by a fabulous support staff who always go the extra mile to do their very best for the guests (thanks Juan in reception) and their extremely helpful Reservations Team of LeighAnn and Bee it truly is a home from home. I must not forget the best gun-totin Bar Keeper in the West, Lisa who not only makes a great 'Rita' Margarita but an accomplished Mojito and anything else you may want as well. It's always fun in the Doghouse Bar when Lisa's around.

Can't wait to get back there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank robinmbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at TVR with a group of about 15 people. The customer service at TVR is the best we have ever seen. Everyone goes above and beyond to ensure you have a wonderful stay. We enjoyed horseback rides, tennis, hiking, pool and the doghouse saloon. A shout out to Jonathan at the coral and Lisa at the saloon for being such great sports with our group. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this ranch to anyone who wants to learn more about horses and you can be assured that everyone at the ranch makes sure that all of your needs are met. We hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

An authentic dude ranch experience. From true horse whisperer types to regular cowboys and cowgirls this place doesn't disappoint. And, some of the warmest guests I have ever encountered on vacation. Many of whom have been coming for 20-50 years! This is a family tradition place with generations sharing it with generations in their families.
The bartender is world class and a lot of fun. The rooms are generous, if maybe a bit dated. And there are a couple little things like lack of food or beverage service at the beautiful pools that I would change. But, I feel I don't really have the audacity to ask for much change from such a wonderful historic place.
And, the kids program is easily one of the best in the world. Patient, kind, helpful, fun cowgirls show kids how to ride, make fun painted horse shoes, tack horses, etc.
It has amazing food, especially considering it is an all inclusive situation. (If I am nit picking, the red wine list is very lacking.)
It is expensive, but we will be back...we hope for generations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhxDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANN ARBOR, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay at TVR was perfect, from the relatively remote setting at the eastern edge of Tucson to the tastefully rustic rooms to the attentive management. Andrew, a member of the management team, treated us like royalty after we walked in looking for a room (we had just escaped an inn where we had made reservations that claimed a no-pet policy only to have pets on the premises. Achoooo!) Andrew was willing to hold the room until be arrived and then escorted us personally to check it out. Also, I didn't want fragranced cleaning products used (more allergies) and Andrew went out of his way to accommodate. That was the beginning of a wonderful five-day stay: Our large junior suite room had a lovely fire place, antique furniture, a patio and a wonderful view of the mountains and stars at night. The decor was classic but not stuffy: Leather chairs, southwestern style wool throws. nice wall art. The bathroom was big and there was a small room between the bathroom and sleeping area that was great for storage. An added bonus was a great trail in the Rincon section of Saguaro NP was within walking distance. While the center of Tucson is only a 30-minute drive away, the ranch feels miles from nowhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outer rim of the ranch so you'll have good views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MONTONYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our family has been going to TVR for many years, and we've met and made friends with other families who also have consistently visited during the same period each year. The fact that three abundant meals, all activities (such as tennis, horseback riding, guided hiking, guided mountain biking, children's program, yoga, etc.) and gratuities are included in the room rate enhances the stress-free atmosphere. Accommodations are well appointed, many with patios, and the rustic setting, 5 miles east of the Tucson city limits and adjacent to Saguaro National Monument and the Rincon Mountains, couldn't be more magnificent. Finally, the staff and management provide friendly and excellent service, and whatever physical improvements we've noticed over the years have been meaningful but subtle.

Room Tip: Casitas offer a great space/price value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
29.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
14.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
11.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.9 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#15 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Property: Tanque Verde Ranch
Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing