We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice landscape, poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I ended up at the Starr Pass Golf Suites for one night. This was booked through Hotwire.

The hotel located in a nice hill just outside the city. It is obviously a timeshare place where they rent rooms by the night.

The desert themed outside areas are very nice.

The bedroom was less than impressive: Mediocre bedding, hard mattress, old bed cover, cheap small TV, old bathroom. My room had no balcony, a small fridge and a coffee machine. I could hear everything from the room next door.The room was clean.

Getting to the Starr Pass Suites can be a bit tricky at night due to the low level lighting. Beware that front desk closes at midnight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Starr Pass Golf Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Used our timeshare and traded to stay here. Very nice accomodations and much more affordable than the Marriott Starr Pass Resort (which is, if you have the chance, an AMAZING resort!) But we were here for a week and needed a place to cook and do laundry and this was absolutely perfect. Went hiking early early in the morning (5am) and golfed at 7:30am most days. It's crazy hot this time of year, but we love Arizona and especially love Tucson. Will most certainly plan to be back here again, love everything about this place.

Room Tip: The Spa is at the Marriott Starr Pass, which you have to check out. We loved our casita here near t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb-austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind response on tripadvisor. we are very happy to hear that our resort was very accommodating to your needs and that you enjoyed your time here regardless the summer heat. We look forward to having you as our guests once again. Happy travels from the Starr Pass team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The location was new to us and we wondered if it would be up to par. Better than we expected. Quiet, clean and comfortable with a nice restaurant and, if you love a tough golf course, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeandGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This property far exceeded our expectations, especially for the modest price we paid. Our one bedroom suite was nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. We had a small balcony sitting area, washer and dryer, and fully equipped kitchen, and took advantage of all of these things. The bed was extremely comfortable - the best night's sleep I've had in a while. The bathroom is quite spacious with plenty of warm water and bright lighting. The pool is crystal clear and quite large. Easy access to Tucson Mountain Park and Saguaro National Park West. The only negative I can say about this property was the perhaps the bathroom could use a bit of updating. However, everything in the bathroom was clean and in excellent working order. Also, you will have a short drive to get to a restaurant or supermarket as there is really nothing in the immediate area. However, it was ideal for our family and we will definitely stay here again when we are in the Tucson area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abibh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked the 895 sq ft suite and was very hopeful from what we read in the reviews. However, we had our daughter go in and check it out for us. The staff was more than accomadating to show her around and also showed her both room types (895 & 405 sq ft). She called me with such enthusiasm about how happy we will be and what a wonderful choice we made. It was great with the FULL kitchen, having the laundry machines and the bedroom, bathroom and living room were so spacious. We were also impressed on the little things that were stocked in the room from the salt & pepper packets to the flashlight in the laundry room/closet. The room was clean and fresh. Even the bed was comfortable. My husband & I HIGHLY recommend this establishment to stay. We do not play golf but enjoyed the place all the same. Nice part is that it is not like a hotel/motel set up. Its more like a neighborhood with mini condos/apts.
Only 2 little things that could be improved on: some kind of a clothes line in the Bathroom to hang wet stuff (from the pool / laundry); and improve the quality of the "personal" paper goods that are used in the bathroom!!!!! We went out and bought our own.
My daughter was currently living like 5 mins away from Starr Pass and but will be moving to another residence maybe 20 mins; we will still book at Starr Pass whenever we visit in Tucson!!

Room Tip: We were very close to the pool and voices did carry esp when there were little ones hanging at the p...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The best resort I ever stayed at! Very very clean!!! The bed was perfect! My husband loved the golf! It was close enough but far enough from everything we wanted to do!! It's a must try for a family getaway or a romantic getaway!!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A peaceful location in the desert foothills, with an abundance of natural plants (including all the differing types of Sonoran desert cacti and wildlife). We even spotted an Cardinal bird, right outside our bedroom window. If you enjoyed a visit to the Sonoran Desert Museum or the Saguaro National Park, then you will love this location too! We were booked to stay at this resort for 3 nights in May 2013. We liked it so much we changed our plans and stayed an extra 3 nights. Great experience from the moment we checked-in through check-out. Customer service was first class throughout. The upper foothill area of western Tucson is the best place to stay; away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but a close enough drive to enjoy the city life if so desired. We will stay here again for sure when visiting Tucson.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
6.0 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
13.3 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Address: 3645 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-9596
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#12 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $110 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing