We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs total remodeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
Ranked #66 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recentely went to this resort and it was a disaster. We had a week's reservation but left after a few days. Years ago we had stayed here and it was very nice - no longer. I do have to say the staff was polite and the location with a nice view was good. However the unit was very dark with shutters and no lamps to be able to read in the living area - just ceiling lights. During the day had to keep everything closed up because the a/c didn't cool it and was uncomfortable.
Everything needed to be updated , not just a new couch or carpet. Paint was chipped and drops of touch up paint left on the floors. Saltillo tile scratched and chipped badly. Shower leaked and had mold. Not clean. Door to patio broken. Big holes in the wall where they tried to attach headboard (bed was comfortable thankfully) Hot water heater made banging noises when using shower or dishwasher. so could not use either in the evening. Gave us robes but no belts. Certainly not a comfortable unit so left midweek. Would never recommend it and told the front desk they should not be putting guests in there until it was fixed. Ruined our vacation - Do not stay here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a completely updated, remodeled unit!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than enjoyable stay with us. We want all of our guests to leave here happy and with fond memories of the Tucson area. We are currently in the midst of updating the resort, and as you mentioned, we have completed some projects such as: new bedding, new carpets, and new TV’s. Starr Pass has many other plans to update the resort and make it as comfortable as possible to all of our guests. Chipped paint, and holes in the walls are definitely not what we want representing us. Please feel free to contact me directly at 520-670-0501, and with more information, I can look at this room specifically and address any other concerns immediately. I hope to hear from you soon!

Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Starr Pass Golf Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just a short family getaway from northern AZ. Nice access to the Sonoran Desert Museum and other natural attractions. Customer service was great!A quiet area for evening walks. The room was clean although a bit dated. The pool was a great temp but could really use cleaning. Lot's of debris and we were costantly splashing bugs and suface debris away from us. I plan to return with the guys and try out the course. It may be the highlight here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sedonacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy you felt the accommodations met your expectations. I am sorry that the pool was not up to our standard during your stay. We have since purchased some new pool equipment, including an vacuum, and we have received great feedback on the pool’s appearance and cleanliness. We hope you can stay with us again soon and experience the 27 hole golf course on site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in a Studio/ 2 beds. Somewhat disappointed upon arrival. But found was actually ok, after we adjusted. The feeling of being out of the busy city was great. The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean, as was the bathroom, which is even more important to us. The very small space for microwave/ coffeemaker was crowded. Since we have stayed at a timeshare before we were aware of keeping our own dishes washed, so not a problem for us as I have seen others write about. Wish we had a patio to enjoy the mornings/ evenings. I didn't see any on the units in our area. The outdoor seating at the only restaurant on the property was great in the evenings, food was OK. The staff was excellent. Could not have asked for better service, very attentive. Always received a call from the front desk to be sure our request had been delivered promptly. Our biggest complaint was not receiving clean towels daily. OK to have a weekly housekeeping service/ recommend to sch that for mid week. But, disappointed in the towel service, which we feel should have been a daily service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indymacthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our stay. We have passed along your comments to the restaurant on property as well. I apologize you were not notified at check in, but we can certainly do a daily towel exchange if it is requested. Next time you stay with us, please request that and we will be happy to accommodate. Hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The grounds are beautiful but the unit we stayed in felt somewhat dated. We were treated well by the staff but would not stay again for the following reasons. My review is in regards to the studio with 2 beds.
1. No ice makers on grounds. You must call front desk and they will have some delivered to your room.
2. Very small microwave, frige and coffee maker all in a very small cabinet space. For example: if you open the door to the mic, you knock the coffee pot off the counter.
3. The only way to wash dishes is in your bathroom sink or call the front desk and they will have the dirty dishes removed and clean ones sent over. (we were not told how it worked, arrived back at our room after a hot and busy day to a table full of dirty dishes, nothing to place our food on, called front desk, said they would send someone over with clean ones, waited and waited. Finally just went to bed. Were not happy.
4. Bathroom is set up strangely. Big window without curtain is over the bathtub and faces the parking. It makes it very ucomfortable showering at night with the lights on. The bathroom is an all in one. No separate area for getting ready if the shower or toilet is being used.
5. Bad lighting through-out.
6. Only one shuttered window besides bathroom for natural sunlight
7. No deck or patio.
8. Just 2 beds, one night stand, small table, 2 chairs and armour.
9. This was a minor annoyance, but the 2 trash cans were so small they were full almost immediately. Without maid service it would be nice if they spent an extra dollar and supplied you with one that didn't need to be taken out constantly.

Again, the staff were friendly and the beds were very comfortable. The room was also clean. But overall, it felt like they were spending as little as possible on the units and made me wonder if they were having financial troubles.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a response about our property. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. We strive to make every guest stay nothing less than very enjoyable.
Our unique property is setup a bit different than a “traditional” hotel. We have individual casitas, offering all first floor units, individual parking, and no inside corridors from room to room. This puts us in a position where we cannot offer an ice machine for guest use. To compensate for that, we have ice available if you call the front desk, and our staff’s commitment is to fulfill a request within 15 minutes or less. We also provide ice trays in the studio units. (one bedroom and two bedroom units have icemakers in full size refrigerators)
The description for a studio unit does include a kitchenette and it is smaller than a full size kitchen. We have done our best to provide as many appliances to assist guests in preparing small snacks and light meals including, microwave, blender, coffeemaker, toaster, etc. The kitchenette does not include a sink and we are prepared to take away any dirty dishes and replace them with clean ones within our 15 minute time frame
The property has recently been through an update, including new carpet and TV’s in the studio units. I encourage all guests making reservations to read our room type descriptions as we have three different options. These descriptions can help guide potential guests into reserving the room type that works best for them.
We appreciate your feedback, and are happy to hear you found our staff pleasant and the cleanliness of the room met your expectations. We have shared this review with our employees. Thank you for being a guest of ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have stayed at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and liked the area. Its a nice secluded area in a residential and scenic section of Tucson. A family member provided timeshare points for us to enjoy this location. Thanks to Kara at the front desk we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was very nice and spacious with a full kitchen. The unit was very clean and had nice views of the desert and city. There are hiking trails nearby and Starr Pass Resort is walking distance, but not much else is close. This is not a bad thing for relaxation! The pool is olympic sized and the workout area is nice. We didnt golf, but the course is amazing. The Catalina BBQ located in the registration/clubhouse area is must for happy hour. The food was great, we had appetizers; Pulled pork potato skins, beer battered onion rings and chicken wings.....all large portions and are wonderful. They serve with many specialty BBQ sauces that are tasty and unique. The servings were enough that we brought back leftovers to the suite and had plenty for lunch/snack the next day. The staff was fun and friendly.

We took in a AAA Tucson Padres game, KIno stadium is actually close...so was wrong that its not close to anything :) There is a Albersons grocery about 15 minutes away to stock up that fridge.

If you want to relax you cant beat this location. They also have great summer rates.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the studio to the one bedroom if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambranoPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Wonderful to hear from a senior reviewer! Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. Glad you were able to enjoy so many different things that Tucson and the resort has to offer. Excellent choice on the appetizers; the potato skins are a personal favorite of mine. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We came to Starr Pass via timeshare trade. The place is very nice (not exceptional). Though the room was a little "tired", the staff is extremely gracious and helpful. The property backs up on Tucson Mountain Park, with miles of hiking right out the door. Only complaint - the studio, or B-side rooms have zero access to the outside except for a smallish window that is shuttered against the heat. Wish they'd made that clear ahead of time, because it meant feeling trapped. The answer was that we spent little time at the property itself.

Room Tip: Ask for one a recently refurbished room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VinhoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback! I have passed along your kind words to the staff and they are delighted as well. Hopefully you can return to the resort again soon and reserve a one bedroom or two bedroom. These include spacious patios/balconies that I am confident you would enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Its a little out of the way but thats what we wanted. The rooms was nice enough and the pool and hot tub were nice. There is hiking all around. We used it as an overnight to go kayaking at Patagonia. But the views around there are beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

We always enjoy hearing from a Trip Advisor Top Contributor! Thank you for your review and come see us again soon. Hope you had a fabulous time in Patagonia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
6.0 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
896 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
13.3 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Address: 3645 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-9596
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#12 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $109 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing