We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Sonora desert experience”
Review of Casa Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Tierra
Ranked #18 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in this place In 2008 and still remember it fondly (and are planning to get back there some time...) It's a great place to enjoy the Sonora desert, away from the urban crawl that seems to close the gap between Phoenix and Tucson a bit more each year... Dave is a great, non intrusive host, careful about the surroundings and very knowledgeable about Arizona. Makes you long for more of these B&B's in the West. Warmly recommended from Holland!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Sjoerdd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Casa Tierra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Casa Tierra in March 2012. The B & B is close to the Desert Museum and Saguaro National Park. Our room was clean with a private patio including
outdoor fireplace. The grounds of the B & B are filled with many varieties of cactus, Our host, Dave Malmquist prepared great breakfasts each day. There is a common room with computer, tv and lots of reading material. Wifi worked well. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our patio each evening and a soak in the hot tub. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our daughter and her fiance were married last weekend at Saguaro National Park, in a memorable sunset ceremony with Tucson's stunning mountains as a backdrop. Casa Tierra B&B, a few minutes away from the park's visitor center, could not have been better for our out-of-town family and friends. Dave Malmquist is a superb host who makes sure everything is wonderful, including three-course gourmet breakfasts worthy of a five-star restaurant.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suite was perfect for us, two children and a grand-child
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Casa Tierra is a small unique B&B Inn west of Tucson AZ in the Sonoran desert at the base of the Tucson mountians. The Inn is an all natural adobe hacienda blending perfectly into its Sonoran desert surroundings. You believe you are all alone in the desert. The Inn is charming and rustic, reminicent of old Mexico. It has many beautiful arches and colorful ceramic tiles. It is hidden away from noise and traffic yet close to many interesting venues.The Arizona desert Museum is very close at hand. Casa Tierra is beautiful, clean, quiet, secure and offers first class comfort and personal attention to those fortunate few wishing to experience its serenity. Our Host and Inn Keeper presented us with unique vegetarian breakfasts each morning. Each of the three rooms and suite, opens into a large enclosed courtyard. We sat drinking freshly brewed rich coffee reading the morning paper, as Humming birds flew in to feast on nectar. When the sun sets the courtyard is softly lit with many candles and sounds of babbling water from the fountain. The atmosphere fills the senses. We sometimes sat in our own private ramada enjoying the small fire place. The desert experience was most memorable. Returning to the Inn each evening was as a welcome home comming. We had our privacy at all times. A great couples getaway.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms or suite is an excellent choice. All are private. This small B&B Inn has...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Everything about Casa Tierra was terrific. The rooms and central courtyard were both decorated beautifully. Our room wasn't large, but had a comfortable bed, a dresser, a few small tables, and a nice bar. The bathroom was small. Everyting was very clean and well kept. We had a covered patio with fireplace looking out to the awesome desert grounds. Catching an amazing sunset and sitting out at night with a bottle of wine was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. There's a telescope for some star viewing, and the stars are in abundance out in the desert at night. Dave was great. He made us feel welcome, helped us find restaurants in the area, and was a pleasure to talk to over breakfast. The breakfast...WAS DELICIOUS!!! A short drive to the west side of the park and Tuscon Studios, I highly recommend this place for anyone interested in the desert experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swearengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Wonderful B&B in a perfect location for visiting Saguaro National Park and the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum--the entrances to each are just down the road. Rooms are in an adobe brick house with a cloistered central courtyard and wild desert with tall saguaros right outside. The back garden attracts many interesting birds that can be watched during breakfast. Breakfast itself is superb--David is an amazing cook and a most congenial host. At night, we enjoyed a fire in the Mexican fireplace on our private patio and also the hot tub in the garden--both good sites for star gazing. Inside, the rooms have decorative ceramic tiling, coffee makers, a fridge, and microwave--everything you might need has been thought of. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends--much more interesting than a swank chain hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Casa Tierra is a great place to stay to get the real desert experience! It is west of Tucson, right next to Saguaro National Park and the Arizona Desert Museum. From the inn, you can just walk out into the desert in all directions. Dave is a great host. He is full of helpful information and his home-cooked breakfasts are delicious. The hot tub is a fabulous place for stargazing! The sunsets from the inn are just unbelieveable! This is the place for peace and quiet, to really be is the desert and still have quick access to the sights in Tucson.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
10.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
896 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
785 reviews
17.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
9.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
24.1 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tierra

Address: 11155 W Calle Pima, Tucson, AZ 85743-9462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $174 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing