We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pima Museum”

Pima Air & Space Museum
Ranked #3 of 282 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be amazed at one of the world's largest aircraft collections: including 2+ hangars of World War II planes, supersonic spyplanes, the world's smallest bi-plane, plus many other unique private, military and commercial air & spacecraft documenting the evolution of flight. Friendly docents augment your visit. Only Pima Air & Space offers the bus tour of the "Boneyard"/AMARG (M-F only, no holidays) plus offers its own tram tour of the museum's 80 acres of one-of-a kind planes daily (additional fees). You can actually touch "aviation history" including "Freedom One" (that flew the American 444-days-in-Iran hostages home), presidential crafts, planes that launched astronauts, delivered life-saving food/fuel, etc. and others with wingspans the length of a football field... Ogle helicopters, MiGs, an Oscar, a rare German buzz bomb, a moon rock and much more. 300 aircraft, 80 acres, 5 indoor air-cooled hangars. Just plane awesome!
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pima Museum”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We enjoyed this museum. It is well set out and has plenty of helpful volunteers to answer questions. Great eaterie.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,697
    631
    112
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit and take out-of-towners!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We took my sister and brother in law there in July. My brother in law is an Engineer. He went crazy over the bombers, all the fighter jets and loved all the hanging planes and jets! We also took our 2 younger children and they were just as amazed. After the 3 hour your, which we did ourselves, we all bought t-shirts and I surprised my brother in law with a video of the Museum, which I purchased in the Gift Shop for &21.99. I mailed it to him after they returned home. He was thrilled. My sister said he was so touched that tears came to his eyes! I'm so glad we took them there. It's hard to get people to visit Arizona in July. But he is sooooo into air crafts and jets and bombers! Oh, the Boneyard was also a once in a lifetime experience. Don't forget to look for the Wright Brothers plane!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CherWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Military past and present”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

"The visit to the Pima Air and Space Museum was both enjoyable and somewhat disappointing; the reasons are as follows:"

"The museum is divided into three (3) tours, and a single advertised entry ticket does NOT get you all three, it gets you to the various hangers which contain dozens of various aircraft and NASA space memorabilia and craft, and allows you to visit the snack bar and the field that contains bombers, fighters, surveillance, and tanker aircraft. You will see a Gemini Capsule, some Blue Angles and Thunderbird aircraft, the Super Guppy, several older Air Force One planes, and many helicopters."

"What you do not get is the 'Tram' tour, which takes you through the grounds with a guide that explains the major features of each aircraft. There are placards at each aircraft in the field, but these only give minimal information. Some do have camera code that you can use to access the internet, but not all. Thus, if you wish to go on the Tram tour, you have to purchase separate tickets once in the gift shop."

"The third tour is a bus ride to the "Boneyard," which is located adjacent Davis-Monthan Air Force Base." The Boneyard is the final resting place for hundreds of aircraft. This tour is also separate from the entry fee to the Pima Air Museum."

"There are drinking fountains and rest rooms, and there is a food court and gift store, but no food or drink other than water is permitted on the grounds."

"There is in the Space exhibit building, a 'Docking Simulator" that is fun to try, and there is a side wing that contains the Arizona Aviation Hall of Fame."

"There are a few aircraft that you can view the bomb bays, cockpits, etc, but most are exterior views only. You can take all the pictures you want, and if you try to take a picture of each aircraft and its description, you will take some 300 to 500 photos."

Per Official website
"The Museum is the official tour operator of the 309th Aerospace Maintenance and Regeneration Group (AMARG), also known as the "Boneyard," which is located adjacent Davis-Monthan Air Force Base." (GPS 32.151708,-110.829735)

Aircraft Display Ages:
Do not expect to see many aircraft that are currently flying as this is a Museum and displays mostly WWII to the year 2000 models; but you will see not only American, but also German, British, Korean, Russian, and other country's aircraft. You will also see several home made kit aircraft, and company experimental aircraft. There are some missiles, a few older drones, some model submarines, and many miniatures of concept aircraft.

There is a full-scale Wright Brother's flyer, and some commercial aircraft, but few to no aircraft prior to WWII, and unfortunately no representation of the early Mar's explorers and that period.

Pima Air & Space Museum, 6000 East Valencia Road, Tucson, AZ
From I-10 Exit 267 at GPS 32.134375,-110.887585, take East Valencia Road northeast to the site.

Plan to spend 4 to 6 hours, and bring water and good hiking shoes..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“History lesson made easy”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Overall, the history combined with the displays are fascinating! Learned so much more about things and events I thought I knew! The Air Force One used by JFK was phenomenal - old technology - look for the toaster plug!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 283valerieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grat aviation museum”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place has a fantastic selection of planes, mostly outdoors. It really is a lot of fun to just stroll around looking at them. This previously was my favourite aviation museum and I have visited it many time on trips to Tucson, but I was recently in Dayton, Ohio and the US Airforce Museum aside from being indoors has things better organised. But, then again its in Ohio. This is really a great place to spend an afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidWChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pima Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pima Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing