We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Museum”

Pima Air & Space Museum
Ranked #3 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be amazed at one of the world's largest aircraft collections: including 2+ hangars of World War II planes, supersonic spyplanes, the world's smallest bi-plane, plus many other unique private, military and commercial air & spacecraft documenting the evolution of flight. Friendly docents augment your visit. Only Pima Air & Space offers the bus tour of the "Boneyard"/AMARG (M-F only, no holidays) plus offers its own tram tour of the museum's 80 acres of one-of-a kind planes daily (additional fees). You can actually touch "aviation history" including "Freedom One" (that flew the American 444-days-in-Iran hostages home), presidential crafts, planes that launched astronauts, delivered life-saving food/fuel, etc. and others with wingspans the length of a football field... Ogle helicopters, MiGs, an Oscar, a rare German buzz bomb, a moon rock and much more. 300 aircraft, 80 acres, 5 indoor air-cooled hangars. Just plane awesome!
Jasper, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice Museum”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This museum is huge, and there are so many planes here. Have plenty of time when going here, so you're not rushed and can see it all. For an extra fee we took a tour of the airplane graveyard. It was very nice with a retired pilot narrator. So many planes at the museum and the graveyard, and a nice cafe inside the museum also. Maybe I can do it again one day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,736
    635
    113
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
angeles City
Level Contributor
211 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The main purpose of my visit to Tuscon was to visit the AMARG boneyard. The museum was first and we spent the whole day at both. There is an impressive collection of planes at the museum. A must visit for aviation enthusiasts. The trip around the boneyard was great. Very informative guide. All in all a very enjoyable day out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive but overwhelming”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My kids (ages 5, 7, 8) enjoyed matching the Disney planes with the actual planes on display at the museum. The museum gives the kids a handout with the Disney and actual pictures and the kids can hunt for them in various hangars. (The map tells you which hangar each plane is in; so they are not difficult to find.)

I wish there were opportunities for the kids to walk into planes. There were no exhibits that offered this experience. There was a small kids' plane in which the kids could sit for a photo opportunity and there was also an old cockpit that the kids could sit in. Other than those two displays, there was nothing to engage kids who like to pretend to fly while being inside a piece of equipment.

It gets tiresome for little kids to look at plane after plane, as they have little appreciation for the backgrounds of each aircraft. Also, my kids have visited our local plane museum which has "open cockpit" days, so they would have liked to experience something similar at Pima.

We went on both the tram tour and the boneyard tour. That was a mistake for young kids. Our kids were well behaved (fell asleep), but they were anxious for the rides to end. If you want to look at nicely painted planes and ride in the hot weather, then take the tram. If you want an air conditioned bus and don't mind looking at planes that are "shrink wrapped" for storage, then take the boneyard tour. I don't recommend both tours with young children. The stories that the docents told were very similar for both tours. So I think you'll get the flavor for the histories of the aircraft on either tour.

I think the museum should have two different tram tours: One for aviation enthusiasts which would last an hour; and the other for families with kids which would last 30 minutes. The kids just want to look at planes and move on. It's difficult for kids to sit in the heat for an hour and listen to stories about how the planes were used in the various wars of our time. I found it interesting, but it was even too much for me.

Overall, I recommend a visit, but limit your time if you have small kids. They will initially be in awe, but after viewing their 20th plane, they will be ready for the swimming pool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SDFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“love this place......”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

got to go here since it was MY birthday and i got to pick a "guy" thing. even though it was our second trip in two years, i never can get enough. i have always been intrigued with aircraft, especially military varieties, and this will not disappoint. last summer i visited both smithsonians back east and although this isn't quite up to those standards, i think it is almost as enjoyable without traveling 3000 miles. plenty of exhibits in several large hangers and PLENTY of aircraft sitting all over the huge property. if you are in the tucson area and have even the slimmest interest in aviation, this is a can't miss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobambro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An impressive collection!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This has to be one of the largest collection of well preserved historic aircraft. The dry desert air prevents the metal from corroding and the vast open space allow for plenty of aircraft to be stored in the open.

Be mindful though, a large portion of the collection is out in the open and it can get quite hot so carry some water. It is well worth the walk! If you're not up for a walk though, don't despair, there's plenty of aircraft stored in large hangars and the space collection is pretty extraordinary.

Set aside a whole day if you wish to take your time taking it all in, which would be my recommendation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jatzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pima Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pima Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing