We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pima Air & Space Museum”

Pima Air & Space Museum
Ranked #3 of 280 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be amazed at one of the world's largest aircraft collections: including 2+ hangars of World War II planes, supersonic spyplanes, the world's smallest bi-plane, plus many other unique private, military and commercial air & spacecraft documenting the evolution of flight. Friendly docents augment your visit. Only Pima Air & Space offers the bus tour of the "Boneyard"/AMARG (M-F only, no holidays) plus offers its own tram tour of the museum's 80 acres of one-of-a kind planes daily (additional fees). You can actually touch "aviation history" including "Freedom One" (that flew the American 444-days-in-Iran hostages home), presidential crafts, planes that launched astronauts, delivered life-saving food/fuel, etc. and others with wingspans the length of a football field... Ogle helicopters, MiGs, an Oscar, a rare German buzz bomb, a moon rock and much more. 300 aircraft, 80 acres, 5 indoor air-cooled hangars. Just plane awesome!
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pima Air & Space Museum”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The museum was very interesting and our tour guide was
quite knowledgeable. I could have listened to him for another
hour. Even the workers in the gift shop were helpful and friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,641
    618
    112
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Air Museum Experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This museum is huge. It has 80 acres of airplanes. Be sure to take the tram tour. Don't miss the SR-71 spy plane and be sure to listen to the docent's explanation of how it was made. Fascinating.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see museum”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Anyone visiting Tucson must see the pima Air & Space Museum. What a phenomenal collection!! Be sure to allocate at least one full day or two half days to your visit of the museum and make sure you go on the AMARG Tour and the Tram Tours (about 1.5 hours each). The narrator's knowledge of the history of each aircraft is exceptional and the cost is nominal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BAC219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
1 review
“good place”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.
I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.
I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.
I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.
I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.
I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.
I think it is a wonderful place to visit. have a lot of airplane.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qinghua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The museum has a hangar where early aircraft are displayed, along with other special exhibits, such as a stealth bomber, fighter planes and helicopters. The museum continues outside, with a massive display of commercial and military craft. You can choose to take a tram tour or the boneyard tour. I took the tram ride, led by a very informative guid that lasted nearly an hour. My husband took the boneyard tour on the military airfield, where almost 4000 craft are stored, either mothballed for possible re-use, or kept for spare parts. He thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chifevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pima Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pima Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing