We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

International Wildlife Museum
Ranked #21 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The International Wildlife Museum is dedicated to increasing knowledge of and appreciation for the diverse wildlife of the world, as well as explaining the role of wildlife management in conservation. Founded in 1988, the museum has over 400 kinds of insects, mammals and birds from all over the globe. Some of the collections are more than 100 years old and all the species found at the museum were donated by various government agencies, wildlife rehabilitation centers, captive breeding programs, zoos and individuals. The museum features a collection of animals from all over the world, along with dioramas re-creating the natural environment in which these animals live. Your visit is an excellent opportunity to see animals up close and gain a better understanding of their size and adaptive characteristics. The museum has many touchable specimens on display. All exhibits are indoors and the facility is wheelchair accessible and air-conditioned. Wildlife movies run hourly from 10am until 4pm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a great place for children & adults. We went on a hot day & it was a great place to spend a few hours indoors. Tons to look at & it kept my kids (2 &11) entertained. The price was I think $11 for all three of us & that is a great deal! Plus the staff was very nice. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    72
    10
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a large variety of creatures here on Earth!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As others said, there's quite a variety of specimens here. It also has many things geared for kids like: small activities in each section, interactive screens with explanations, many types of fur that are labeled that you can touch, good explanations to teach the basics of the Animal Kingdom.
Some of the highlights for me were the following: a live Emperor Scorpion, a real elephant tusk you can touch, an African Elephant head, bears, which show how huge they are.
The gift shop was closed by the time I got to it which was almost 5PM.
Also the entrance fee is not expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank phoenixdude1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a nice place to spend a few hours, especially during the heat of the day since it is air conditioned. It has a nice collection of animals, many of which we'd never seen before. For the most part they have been set in realistic scenes, which made it fun.
I also really enjoyed the quick lesson on how taxidermy is done, as this place is sure to beg that question, especially from little ones. It was very interesting!
There are a few live animals too - a tarantula, and a scorpion, as well as some hissing cockroaches, I believe.
Overall it was a very enjoyable visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesleywhite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Upside/Downside”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a really great place to spend an afternoon with your children. It is AIR CONDITIONED and pretty hard to lose them. The first room has an incredible display of a massive collection of mounted butterflies. The animals are displayed, some in their habitats, some actively catching their prey. There is a fantastic desert nocturnal cave that is exciting to the little ones, and also a cute tunnel just to have an "animal-like" experience. There is a new exhibit where kids can experience being in a tent just as if they were on a safari. My grandchildren love this "adventure." I used to bring first graders here for fieldtrips. Yes, these animals were mostly shot, then mounted. Some people can't get past this kind of sport. Yet, since it exists, this is an educational use for the collections. The IWM has worked hard to make this a very good place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ehartlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for Entire Family”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I take my grandkids here every time they visit. It is not only interesting for adults for great fun and educational for kids. They love it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing