We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this no matter what”

Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.89*
and up
Tucson Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This renowned combination zoo, natural history museum, botanical garden and art gallery reflects the diverse flora and fauna of the Sonoran Desert, featuring wildlife such as coyotes, bears and mountain lions in their natural settings and two aviaries; one for hummingbirds and the other for varied desert birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this no matter what”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

To describe this place I simply could not put into words. The volunteers that work there are truly amazing with any question you have. Don't be fooled by the museum in its name. It is way beyond any museum I've ever visited. The first time I've ever been in a humming bird house, The trails are nice to hike and scenery is spectactular. No hidden secrets to the art exibits, artist's are on site and willing to have you get involved. Have comfortable shoes for walking and water for the trails.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,535
    952
    185
    37
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Docents make the difference!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had Donna as our docent guide. And, at many of the stops along our guided visit, there were additional docents covering specialized topics. This was a treat. It was very engaging for our entire family (we had our 16 year old son with us).

The intelligent design and layout of the animal enclosures led to excellent viewing opportunities for the visitor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic live zoo...this is not a "museum" as I know them to be”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great living quarters for live animals from the desert Southwest exist here. It's a fantastic place that takes a long time to see it all and is not handicap accessible for most of it. Go early though as the animals hide from the heat and it gets very busy as the day goes on. It's a 1/2 day visit minimum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NordicgirlluvsAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must go.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's a nice place to go to if you never been there but it's best to go early in the morning or when it starts cooling off in the day because, the animals like to hide and sleep during the hottest time of the day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tkrumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Liked it all. Hot & humid monsoon season. Much worse than our home in El Paso. Excellent exhibits. Don't forget a wide-brimmed hat and a gallon of water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GWHayduke2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing