We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip!”

Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.89*
and up
Tucson Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This renowned combination zoo, natural history museum, botanical garden and art gallery reflects the diverse flora and fauna of the Sonoran Desert, featuring wildlife such as coyotes, bears and mountain lions in their natural settings and two aviaries; one for hummingbirds and the other for varied desert birds.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Haven't been here in a few years, but last time was a nice place to meander. Exhibits are eco-friendly, hummingbird sanctuary and more. good for families too!

Helpful?
Thank polkadott188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,535
    952
    185
    37
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The BEST in Arizona & possible the USA”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I could write a book about this spectacular place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GregAliceSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More cactus than you can shake a stick at!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Meet a Humming Bird up close - beautiful.
A great day out and a lovely drive too - take a picnic, places to stop en-route with amazing views!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
289 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Learn All About the Sonoran Desert”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

A combination of zoo and botanic garden, this is an excellent presentation of everything you'll ever need to know about the Sonoran Desert. The scope does not go beyond this region, but covers it extensively and in a way that is very user friendly. Good restaurants, too. Our favorite place to take our winter visitors!

Helpful?
Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
332 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Even Better This Time!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Many years back hubby and I visited the Desert Museum and vowed to return one day. So, before traveling up to Phoenix or our flight home, we devoted the afternoon to cactus, critters, and beautiful vistas of far off mountains.
The weather was cool, so we were able to cover most of the grounds without melting. The hummingbird exhibit and walk-in aviary were delightul, with experts on hand to share facts and info about what we saw. Bees, lizards, snakes, scorpions, otters, beavers, big cats, wolves, minerals, plants, so much to tell about, so little space. This is one of the Must Visit places in AZ!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank snivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing