We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Eats When Others Shut Down”

Shot in the Dark Cafe
Ranked #16 of 33 Coffee & Tea in Tucson
Price range: $4 - $10
Restaurant details
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Late Night Eats When Others Shut Down”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wound up in downtown Tucson the other night and it was ten or eleven and we wanted a small bite, maybe a fish taco. Unfortunately, the places we checked had already closed the kitchen but a bartender at the Congress Hotel sent us to the Shot in the Dark. It is a small older building and seemed more like a coffee shop than a restaurant at first glance. However, we did just fine there with a quesadilla and chocolate chip cookie. Yum. The service was fantastic and food down home style. Not a fancy place, but open 24/7 staffed by young people who will make you happy. A great discovery on our part thanks to that bartender.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to go in downtown”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great people, great food, and bestof all fantastic coffee. It's the best place to hang out downtown with a great urban feel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazieaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“there's a part of my heart that never leaves this place”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Shot In The Dark Cafe is the best place to go if you're looking for a chill atmosphere with comfortable seating, artsy decor, and occasional entertainment. The staff have always been friendly, helpful, and interesting to talk to. They care about their business, and they know their stuff.
The meals are excellently priced and delicious. My choice is usually the hummus platter, a plate full of delight sized perfectly to share with a friend (or totally pig out on, if you're me).
I've been going to Shot In The Dark since 2007, for a couple brief moves to Tucson and a few visits. I'm continuously satisfied with the service and atmosphere.
There really is a part of my heart that never leaves this place. It's the first thing I think of anytime someone mentions Tucson. It's also my favorite coffee shop in any of the three states I've lived in.
If you're a tourist, keep in mind that this is a good place to stop between the courthouse/library photo ops and that groovy rattlesnake overpass. It's also right next to one of Tucson's main city bus transit centers and the train station.
They have something to offer everyone, whether you're looking for a cheap breakfast on your way to work or a place to gather with your friends for an all day conversation over coffee. (But if you are going to be there all day, be courteous and keep ordering things. It's all pretty tasty, anyway.)
I've actually debated buying a flight to Tucson just to sit around in Shot In The Dark cafe again and feel that warm Tucson air as I'm drinking a huge glass of mocha, watching beams of sunset through the city walls and windows.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amidthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disgusting”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

there are homeless people and thieves who hang out there for the free computer use. my phone was stolen and i was continually harassed be weirdos. go there at your own risk

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lobsterfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great Coffee, And Changing Decor”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Open 24/7 every day of the year... They consistently have very good food and coffee and if you happen to be a smoker, have a screened in smoking room just for you. Have just put in new booths and always have some new interesting art work on their walls.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shot in the Dark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing