We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners of this course should be arrested...”

Arizona National Golf Club
Ranked #13 of 77 Outdoor Activities in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This desert course, located at the base of the Santa Catalina Mountains, is known for its breathtaking views, stunning beauty, challenging design and topnotch customer service.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The owners of this course should be arrested...”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

... for letting this formerly-beautiful course deteriorate into the burnt-out dogtrack it's become. It broke my heart to see how the owners (IRI) have ruined this course. They are clearly not watering anything except the greens, and the entire course is hard and dried out. Count on losing golf balls (even if you're a good player) because the fairways are like asphalt. This beautiful RTJJ-designed course, with scenic elevated tee boxes, had been my favorite course in Tucson. I walked off the course after only 6 holes today in disgust. I will not play here again until different owners take it over.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    8
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Played on a Monday morning in June. Temps in the high 90's and wnet out alone. Fairways were terrible but the greens ran true. Guy in the pro shop said they were running about 9, but I think they were closer to 6. I was lucky to have an app on my phone to see the aerial view of the course because there are at least 6 holes with blind tee shots.
Overall, it was worth the $25 but they need to put some money into the course. I liked the layout and while it is not a long course, there is trouble on every hole. Water comes into play on a couple of holes, but other than that you can expect to be in the brush if you lack accuracy off the tee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shameful Conditions”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Sorry to see what has become of this formerly beautiful golf course. We have played there for years and watched the University of Arizona Women's Golf Tournament there. But now, April 2013, it is a dirt track fallen into disrepair. The green are OK, the tees are marginal, but he rest of the turf has burned up and disappeared.. Both the "fairways" and the rough have gone to dirt. Such a shame! One wonders how long this course can stay in business with such poor conditions and one assumes the owners are letting their investment fail.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No grass on fairways”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

How can you charge people to play at a course that has no grass on the fairways? I played here a number of years ago and it was beautiful. Brought friends to play and was totally embarrassed. And no sAnd in the sand traps.

Helpful?
1 Thank onustack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“neglected”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Sad to see what was a very good course in such poor condition. Badly in need of TLC. Hopefully the owners will spend some money on it and overseed in the autumn

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheepdogGreenValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona National Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Arizona National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing