We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good news/bad news”

The Golf Club at Vistoso
Ranked #17 of 76 Outdoor Activities in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greens and tees are placed close together on this course.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good news/bad news”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I played Vistoso for the 1st time two weeks ago.

The good news starts with the practice facility. I live south of tucson where a majority of the courses are not in good shape.I found the greens and tees at Vistoso do be in very good shape. The fairways need a little work but overall decent.

The bad news is that although this is desert target golf it was extremely difficult to determine how far to hit the ball. There are no picture layouts of the holes. on probably 5-6 holes I could not deterine if the par 4 was a dogleg left or right from the tee box. The fact the wind was blowing 40-45 mph did not help.There was no group in front of us so I could not use them as a guide.

I have been playing golf for 50 years never felt unsure b4 which way a hole played!! I am a 12 handicap player.

By the way I was using a Bushnell V2 lazer!!

On the 9th hole I was in middle of fairway 125 yds from green(according to marker in the fairway). I could not see the flag.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnwayne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    2
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
959 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“This Tract Needs Water”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Played Vistoso in early May. The course is in receivership, and that may be why they are not watering enough.
This once high status course has started to deteriorate.
There is no Ranger to speed play, and we were stuck behind a slow group, and the course was not
very busy.
This is a desert target golf course, and there are many long carries over cactus-covered waste areas. The tees and greens were well cut and maintained.
They have a nice practice area, and Wayne the starter is a friendly rascal.
There are many low-price tee times available at this time of year.
Vistoso is a demanding course. You need to hit a good straight drive that carries.
Most holes are fair. I have a problem with #8. A perfect drive in the middle will run left into either a large trap or a lake. The entire landing area slopes radically to the left. The second shot is a long carry into the wind, over water, to a tiny green surrounded by deep bunkers.
Much of the vegetation planted years ago is in need of repair or replacement.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great test of golf and natural beauty as well”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Vistoso Golf Club is one of Tom Weiskopf's best designs. This course offers many different tee boxes to accommodate all levels of play. The views of the Santa Catalina and Tortolita Mountains are striking. Green fees are reasonable for a course of this quality. We played in the late evening and the wildlife sightings were amazing. We spotted several large Mule Deer and a herd of Javelina as well as a bobcat. If I was only going to play three or four courses in Tucson I would definitely include Vistoso Golf Club.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice course but...”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

It lacked in maintenance. Lots of tee box divots and fairway divots and they were not nice and green either. Lots of brown on the course. The fairways weren't in very good shape either although they rolled pretty well. Certainly not worth the price. It would be fine if you were paying around $50 but at $130 I expect more. Try Ventana.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kithollingshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty Course”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Very challenging even for good golfers but the views are sublime.

Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyfeet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golf Club at Vistoso also viewed

 

Been to The Golf Club at Vistoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing