We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Guero Canelo

El Guero Canelo
Ranked #30 of 1,913 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vilseck, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I lived in Tucson for a while and El Guero Canelo was by far our favorite restaurant! They have amazing carne asada tacos, and my husband loves the sonoran dogs! The fresh salsa cannot be beat, and I cannot wait to get back there again!! YUM!!

In addition, we always loved the experience of the original restaurant on the south side of town. It was semi-outdoors, and there were fans set up to cool you off. There was usually a musician playing Mexican music, which made the restaurant that much more fun! So, I recommend checking out the original restaurant if you have never been there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    84
    23
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place offers authentic Mexican fare for a very low price, with plenty of seating. It does get busy at the usual hours, and parking is tight, so get there before everyone else if you can. I recommend the Sonoran Dog with Horchata.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slasich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hailing from Kentucky, we definitely don't have any place like this one in our area. I expected a typical Mexican restaurant, but it was quite the opposite. No frills and slightly intimidating at first, but I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Had the Sonoran dog, which is similar to the Chilean completo if you're familiar with that. All around an excellent experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pfbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy Sonoran hotdog!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not only is the food good, but it is a great place to take in the local flavor. The Sonoran hotdogs hit the spot when in the mood for good fast, junk food. Except they have fresher ingredients and the best soft, sweet buns. The place is clean and the staff friendly. Good place to take out- of -towners for a quick, fun lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, the State
Level Contributor
312 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fast, good food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a great time figuring out what we wanted. Sorry, can't remember exactly what it was called, but all of us throughly enjoyed every bite of what we ordered. Enjoyed the extras you select yourself: radishes, various kinds of salsa, roasted vegetables, lime etc. Also the Mexican sodas. The atmosphere is serious: sit and eat - no frills.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simivalley1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Guero Canelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing