We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tucson Treat for Fans of the Old Wild West!”
Review of Old Tucson

Old Tucson
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Tucson Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #18 of 282 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Old Tucson is open for the 2016/2017 season! Old Tucson is Where the Spirit of the Old West Comes Alive! Southern Arizona's one-of-a-kind Wild West attraction features live action stunt shows, musicals and live entertainment, vintage rides for the kids and special events throughout the season. Step back in time as you make your way through town, walking the same streets made famous by movie legends such as John Wayne, Clint Eastwood, Elizabeth Taylor, Steve Martin, Sharon Stone and more! Home to more than 400 films and commercial productions, Old Tucson remains the region's premier film location. Experience the diversity of our Native American and other cultural ancestry through our living history programs celebrating life in the Arizona Sonora Desert region during Arizona's Territorial Period.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Tucson Treat for Fans of the Old Wild West!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My in-laws live on the outskirts of Tucson, and this was one of the attractions we visited. The Food Networks, "Chopped" show taped an all grill version of their show at the studios, and it brought back memories of our visit. There were many old westerns taped there back in the day, but a fire had destroyed a lot of the old settings. The live show with the can-can girls was well choreographed, and they also do a live shoot out reenactment outside as well. There's not very much else to see, but fans of the old western's should enjoy this excursion, as many were taped on the premises.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nasihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    497
    204
    65
    46
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
423 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A bit of a letdown”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Basically you are buying a ticket to get in and....buy more things. Since the fire there is not as much to see. It's a little pricey as well. It can be a little fun if you're not from the west, but generally we recommend to visitors to skip it and do other things instead, particularly the Desert Museum.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0ld_Tucson, Manager at Old Tucson, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Old Tucson provides a great value for the admission price. As many other guests have indicated, admission includes all shows (currently 2 musical revues, 2 gunfights and a comedic snake oil show), living history presentations on a number topics (History of the Stagecoach, Sheriffs of the Old West, and more), guided tours of the sets, and a documentary produced by Old Tucson celebrating what would have been the 100th birthday of the late great John Wayne. Admission also includes interacting with the actors between performances, the movie history museum, and rides (the train, carousel, antique cars) and attractions (the Iron Door Mine). Great southwestern food, beverages, and souvenirs (including Old-Time Photos) are available for sale. All in all, it's a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More fun than I thought”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went with my aunt who was here from out of town. She wanted to go so I agreed. It was more fun than I expected as I'm not a western fan. I thought it was a little pricey but we had a fun time between this and the desert museum.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank azkellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun, lots of film history ...but”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

... lots of that film history went up in smoke some years ago now. But, you can still see some great costumes from film and TV along with some of the buildings from classic films. Enjoyable... food and drinks are a bit pricey !!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank T-c M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old time western town”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a great experience for kids and granddaughter while visiting from the midwest. It is like the old time towns seen in western films and was really a treat for them.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing