We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“My sweet tooth was left unsatisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Something Sweet Dessert Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Something Sweet Dessert Lounge
5319 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85712
520-881-7735
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Tucson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My sweet tooth was left unsatisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I picked up 2 desserts here to enjoy at home. Carrot cake and pecan pie. We were both disappointed. The carrot cake was dry and bland and the pie was just unremarkable. We won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nlthevenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Something sweet is a favorite place to have small meetings or just meet a friend for a light lunch or... for something sweet! The ambiance is homey and comfortable. Though there are two full walls of glass, lighting is mellow both day and night. A shelf full of games and books are a clear invitation to settle in for however long you like. My favorite is the Mexican cocoa with a shot of espresso, and I love trying a new dessert every time. In several years of visits I haven't run out of new options.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howdydoothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good desserts but decor is awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

As the name implies, this cafe specializes in desserts which are indeed varied and flavorful. It also offers a nice assortment of teas and hot chocolates. The decor though, is awful: plain, plain, and plain. It's depressing. I would think that a place designed to sell sweets would, well, look warm and friendly. Needless to say, I don't care for the place much. It's only redeeming feature is that it is open late.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valaya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I visited Something Sweet with a small group of friends after the symphony. The basics here are desserts and coffee or tea. It took at least half an hour to get our drinks, and when our desserts came I was amazed to discover that my peach cobbler was simply warmed peaches, no crust or crumbles. I took it to the counter and asked for something and the result was not much better. I won't be back!

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's good but it's just dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Imagine buying every available cake from a restaurant supply catalog, freezing them or chilling them, slicing them to order for patrons, and you have Something Sweet Dessert Lounge. Yeah the cakes are good, but I highly highly doubt that many of them are actually made on the premises. There are just way too many menu options for the staff there to be baking that many cakes to have on hand and ready for patrons over the course of a week. On one visit in the early evening, the restaurant was out of ice cream. Think about it, a dessert lounge out of ice cream, really? The blackberry cobbler was kind of a gelatinous mess with almost no crumb topping.

The big [...] brownie was awesome and huge, easily two servings if not more. The toffee chocolate cake and the chocolate cream pie were also very tasty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Something Sweet Dessert Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing