We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe We're Just Dumb”
Review of Ace of Escape

Ace of Escape
Ranked #9 of 54 Fun & Games in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a fun live escape room experience close to downtown Tucson & the U of A. We have two locations: 48 North Tucson Blvd and downtown at 406 N. Church Ave. You and your group will race against the clock to find hidden clues, solve puzzles, and unlock the final key to escape. Whether you succeed or fail, at Ace of Escape, your group will leave elated & longing to do more! We offer three escape room experiences ranging in difficulty, but designed for fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 10, 2017

My teenage son, wife and I did the 70's room; which apparently is suppose to be a little more difficult room. There was another family there to be in a different escape room. We've never done an escape room before and for the price had high expectations about the experience. First, the host really needs to attend some Toastmasters meetings and brush up on his public speaking skills and how to make people feel more welcome. I was expecting (again due to the pricing) that the decor and styling of the '70's Room' would be much more , well, stylish and tastefully sophisticated, '70's' way. It felt more like a thrift store with 42 year old junk in it. As for the the challenges in the room, I felt that the process was too vague to proceed with out any clues. With the clues, proceeding was sometimes helpful, but I could not see how anyone can proceed without clues. Even the clues were kind of obscure. I don't know, maybe I'm just dumb. ( If you never tried an escape room, and you might be a little dumb, try the easiest room first to get an idea how this goes). I'll admit I've never been one to like brain teasers, but I would think even with 'brain teaser skills' it was still a bit obscure on how to proceed through it. If I paid out a total $30 for all three of us I'd feel the whole experience was an interesting way to spend an hour, but having paid nearly $100 to feel frustrated and dumb in a chintzy room, I've learned that the best way to escape this place is to never go back. Sorry to sound bitter, but for the money, the value was very poor.. Maybe it was simply our fault for being too confident to try a more difficult room. Maybe we should have just tried an easier room first.

Thank ambriel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceofEscape T, Owner at Ace of Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. Escape rooms are generally very puzzle oriented and missing even subtle clues may leave someone asking how on something. That specific room does have a clear written starting point. It sounds like the various combination of expectations and missing certain clues resulted in an unsatisfactory experience for you. Please PM us so we can try and make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"escape room"
in 7 reviews
"super fun"
in 3 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 4 reviews
"clues"
in 7 reviews
"illusionist"
in 3 reviews
"blast"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2017

First time at 'Ace of Escape' and enjoyed 'Beat the Clock' as we raced against time to find the hidden heirloom. Very challenging but as a team we worked through the puzzles and finished with 10 minutes to spare. Great set up AOE!!!

1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceofEscape T, Owner at Ace of Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

We really appreciate when people take the time to write a review. So glad you had fun!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

We visited "Beat The clock" escape room today. What a blast! You'll have 1 hour to find Nana's prized cameo and a key to escape the room before the dreaded banker shows up with the police!
Can you beat the clock? You will have to solve multiple obstacles to get gain a final key to escape the room.
We made it! Barely! It was really fun, as you race the clock.

1  Thank beachmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceofEscape T, Owner at Ace of Escape, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

We really appreciate when customers take the time to write a review. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

What a great way to spend an hour! So much fun trying to find and figure out the clues! We were short on our first attempt but look forward to trying Escape Rooms during our travels. Definitely recommend.

1  Thank worldflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceofEscape T, Owner at Ace of Escape, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had fun. Good luck in your travels and in your escaping adventures. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2017

We enjoyed redeeming our Gift Card (great idea for a Christmas present for those hard to buy for), solving all the puzzles and finding the keys in the Beat the clock room.

1  Thank Parkertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AceofEscape T, Owner at Ace of Escape, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you for the review!! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ace of Escape also viewed

 

Been to Ace of Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing