We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hike”

West Quoddy Head Light
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hike”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Cliffs against ocean, beautifully maintained, steep in some areas but just beautiful. We had the trail to ourselves, what could be better? Beautiful part of our country, lighthouses, whales, incredible fresh food and produce

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNormanGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    101
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eastern Most Point in the U.S. is at West Quoddy!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Go here and take your picture next to the plaque/monument to the eastern most point in the U.S. The red and white candy stripped lighthouse is very interesting and has a nice museum in the attached building. If you want a souvenir (like a Christmas ornament), stop by West Quoddy gifts just off the road shortly after you leave the park gate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Make this a priority!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There are so many gorgeous views along the trails in this area. You don't have to walk very far before you're surrounded by the fabulous coast lines that Maine has to offer!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenverCO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Maine lighthouse”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful views, nice trails easy to find. Enjoyed the many picnic tables and grills scattered around the facility.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gneebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“West Quoddy Head Light, Lubec, ME”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We did this as a day trip from Bar Harbor, ME. It took about 2 hours. Well worth the trip. This is the red-striped lighthouse you've seen in pictures. Very beautiful. We didn't have our passports, but if we did, we could have easily gone over to Canada for a visit. There's a nice little museum with the lighthouse, and two very nice gentlemen to answer any questions that you have. It's the easternmost point of the U.S. Highly recommended, especially if you like to see lighthouses!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gginnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Quoddy Head Light also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to West Quoddy Head Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing