We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Betsy Ross Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Betsy Ross Lodging
Ranked #6 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Philmont, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Betsy Ross is small, but has four great rooms. Lubec is really a charming town and very convenient for travel to New Brunswick. The Betsy Ross is within walking distance to some fine restaurants. My room was large and comfortable and the owner was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We drove and drove and ended up in Lubec. What a charming town. It was everything I had imagined it would be and when we arrived, the owner's husband met us with a cold beer and a glass of wine for myself. I have to say I would stay there again. It was not fancy but it was very cozy and I enjoyed chatting with the owners (who also run the Atlantic Cafe). It was a delightful place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Betsy Ross is small (four rooms), but everything is superb! (see photos). It is located in Lubec, ME which is the most eastern point in the USA. The town is like stepping back in time (no cellphones!!!) Great food and drink (don't miss Annabelle's). After being at Annabelle's for around 30 minutes, I felt that I had lived there all my life! "Maine--the way life should be" certainly applies to Lubec. It was so great that a friend and I went back the next week and he fell in love with the Betsy Ross and Lubec, too!

Room Tip: You can go to their website and view the rooms, each has different sleeping configurations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineGuyBangorArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

There are not a lot of places to stay in Lubec. The Betsy Ross Inn was recently renovated, nicely decorated/designed and very clean. There is a refrigerator located in the lobby. It is stocked with beer, wine, soft drinks for your consumption, no charge, at the pour-your-own happy hour. The owners were very nice and very helpful.

When we arrived in Lubec we tried to phone the Betsy Ross. Because Lubec is located so close to Canada and the closest cell tower is located in Canada, our Verizon service warned us about getting “international charges”. Be careful. If your phone service doesn’t warn you, you may get nicked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LoveTravellingTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

this place has 2 rooms very recently done however it smelled like cigarettes really bad!! We had to open the windows and kept them open all night! Tiny Tiny town with really nothing to do except visit the lighthouse which is the most eastern point in the United States. We arrived before the tourist season (memorial weekend) and it is just dead! These people were very nice and provided us our accommodiations prior to the opening time but this was the most expensive night with no breakfast and only one place open for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CRtravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katenick1999
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The inn was charming - great view, comfortable, affordable, quiet! They accepted my pets, because they are small (and we are responsible pet owners), which I REALLY APPRECIATED! It is VERY HARD to find pet friendly accommodations in the Lubec area. I am forever grateful to the owners who were friendly and welcoming. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katenick1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I was on an idle drive north with no reservations and happened to get a room at the Betsy Ross. The room was wonderful, and really large. I got a wifi signal that leaked in from the library next door. Complimentary breakfast was a $4 credit at the restaurant across the street. The food there is very good. The choice of pastries is pretty impressive and the mocha I had was excellent, even if it was in a foam cup.

Lubec is a strange and charming place, with a few streets of buildings and what looks like a heartfelt restoration effort going on. There is a border crossing a few blocks away with one dutiful and weary agent, and West Quoddy lighthouse a short drive away. They like to throw out that whole "Easternmost" thing - Easternmost gift shop, Easternmost town, Easternmost restaurant... being Easternmost isn't the only thing Lubec is. It's a peaceful town with what looks to be new life to it.

  • Liked — Fun and quirky inn, big nice rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennysayquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.4 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
25.0 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
235 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
23 reviews
16.6 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
276 reviews
13.2 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betsy Ross Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy Ross Lodging

Property: Betsy Ross Lodging
Address: 61 Water St, Lubec, ME 04652-1146
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 61 Water St. in historic downtown Lubec Maine. Enjoy breathtaking views of the International Bridge, Campobello Island and the powerful currents of the Lubec Narrows, all from our wraparound deck. In room coffee & tea, complimentary drink upon arrival and free phone calls in US and Canada. 10% DISCOUNT FOR 5 OR MORE NIGHTS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Betsy Ross Lodging Hotel Lubec
Betsy Ross Lodging Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing