We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, lovely motel with great muffins!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastland Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastland Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, lovely motel with great muffins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The owners are very friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious. The motel is in the process of being renovated but the rooms (we had 4 for our group) are all clean and comfortable. The added bonus (which I was not expecting) were the excellent home baked muffins. These were delicious and served warm each morning. We had blueberry, chocolate and raspberry muffins during our 2 day stay. Great for families. Close to "downtown" Lubec, Quoddy Head Lighthouse, and Campobello Island, Canada. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We love that you appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms. Our crew works hard to make everyone's experience a positive one. We continue to update and improve our motel and hope you return next year to see the progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    94
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
76
174
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
HongKong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I did not stay here because the motel was full but the people there called the Water Street Inn and got me a room and sent me on my way with a delicious muffin. Couldn't have been nicer. And the muffin was great,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haghkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for the review even though we couldn't provide you with a room! Happy to hear you enjoyed the blueberry muffin : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights on our way to New Brunswick. They are in process of sprucing it up as well as recovering from Arthur. Was concerned because it was outside of town but it turned out to be a good value. Amenities included a full size coffee pot refrigerator and microwave and a gracious and helpful owner. Lots of people staying, but it was amazingly quiet. A really nice continental breakfast with good coffee ( hard to find even it in the more elegant inns), homemade muffins, good fruit and even oatmeal. Close to Lubec (drive not walk). Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
We are still trying to clean up after Hurricane Arthur! Thanks for understanding. ; )
And thanks for appreciating Glen's gourmet coffee. We finish a pot before the guests arrive for breakfast. And, luckily, The Eastland Motel has always had guests who appreciate the need for a peaceful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stopped by to visit with the owners. They were booked for that evening, however, the owners did take the time to show us rooms and give us all the details of all the great dining, specialty shops to visit. When we go to Lubec, Maine again, we definately will be staying with the Eastland Motel. See you soon on a future stay. Thanks for your great hospitality.

Room Tip: Huge rooms furthest from the Office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationland_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for stopping in. We would love to have had you stay. Thanks for taking the time to post the review and for the kind words. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have had bad experiences with privately-owned motels, from "non-smoking" rooms that left my clothes reeking, to torn, dirty bathroom curtains. The only thing in common with these is that the Eastland Motel is also privately owned. The room was bigger than most of the high-end 2.5 star hotels. The linens were of good quality and in good condition. Everything was spotless. And the hospitality was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for staying at our privately owned motel! We work hard to make it an experience that you would find at a higher end facility including bedding, linens, and rain forest fair trade coffee to our home baked muffins with locally grown blueberries and hand picked raspberries! We hope you have the opportunity to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

to have been able to visit lovely Lubec and the Eastland Motel 3 times this year with plans to return soon!! The motel will be full during our next trip (not surprising if you read all the excellent reviews) so we are going to stay in the house rental (see their Facebook page for pictures/details). Heather and Glen are great hosts and really go out of their way to make your stay perfect in every way. The rooms are very clean and comfortable...and you can stay connected (if you want to) with free Wifi/free phone calls/cable TV. Please read my previous reviews for more details...we continue to highly recommend the Eastland Motel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
No, how lucky are we that you return to Lubec and The Eastland Motel so often?! We always appreciate your smiling face and your sweet surprises! Hope you enjoy our North Lubec farmhouse as much as you enjoy our motel. We absolutely LOVE you two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The owners are doing a lot of renovating, as well as going into the computer age for reservations. Although we weren't in the computer when we got there (we'd called a week before and made reservations), we WERE in the calendar book they still mostly use. Remember, this IS Downeast Maine. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, polite, helpful, and then there are the muffins....

Our room was two doubles, but it was big, bright, airy, and spotless. The bathroom had only a stand-up shower, but even that was large enough to move around in (somewhat bigger than your typical "phonebooth" shower). Even though it is right on the road, with the window open all night to get a nice breeze there wasn't any traffic noise worth mentioning. Both my wife and I are light sleepers but neither of us had a problem.

And now the muffins... the owner and his wife make fresh muffins every morning. They come straight from the oven to the lobby... where they last about 4/10ths of a second before being devoured. Fresh local blueberries, fresh local raspberries, I'd go back just for the muffins!

They're about 3 miles out of Lubec village, would be a great place to stay and check out the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
22.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
17.0 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
14.4 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
17.9 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Motel

Property: Eastland Motel
Address: 385 County Rd, Rte 189, Lubec, ME 04652-3503
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated 20 unit motel and fully equipped cottage is only minutes from the famous West Quoddy Head Lighthouse, the most eastern point in the Continental US. We are the area's only motel and provide immaculate, comfortable, and well equipped rooms. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. You will wake every morning to a free continental breakfast that includes a freshly baked batch of homemade muffins, gourmet coffee and a fresh bowl of fruit, juice and yogurt! We are less than three miles to the county's best restaurants, breathtaking beaches, quaint gift shops and Campobello Island's Roosevelt International Park! We are your eco-adventure tourism destination and can provide you with directions to the greatest hiking trails, whale watching tours, and puffin excursions!We are now open through the winter and provide snowshoes for those wishing to trek our beautiful trails! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastland Motel Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing