We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay”
Review of Eastland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastland Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I would stay here again and I fully recommend the place to anyone who is looking for clean and comfortable accommodations. The motel is typical of older places - a rambling one-story, with parking out front, half paved and half with gravel. The location on the main road to 'downtown' Lubec and the bridge to Campobello was ideal.

The owner is updating the corridor, so it was in a state of partial demolition and partial restoration, with building materials stored by the entryway. The room was large, clean and comfortable. It included a refrigerator and microwave. The WiFi worked fine. The bedding was comfortable. The A/C worked great.

The complimentary breakfast is served in the office, so it was grab and go back to your room to eat. It included home-baked blueberry muffins, which were wonderful. The coffee was good. Nothing to complain about at all.

The woman and the young man (her son?) who worked the office were pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Eastland is just 10 min. or so from the international bridge to Campobello Is., West Quoddy head light and the village of Lubec, Maine. It is right on the main hwy. Rooms were clean and spacious. Coffee in rooms. The place is a bit dated but they are in the process of a major update. Even so, the place was neat and orderly in spite of the work. The breakfast was adequate: coffee, juice, yogurt, muffins etc... For $70 a night I wasn't expecting any food at all, so what they offered was fine. Great value for the money I'd say.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewelch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we had went to me for the blueberry fest, had wanted to stay colse but all was booked. i had called this motel which is about 28 miles out, it couldn't had benn the best choice we made than staying in town. i was so please and happy with the EASTLAND MOTEL, i was glad eveyone was booked or we wouldn't had had such a good time. the owners are great, very helpful and knows the area well. we did so much, learned a lot about the history of that area. the town was 3/4 of a mile but so awesome. the resturants were just as great, we actually made sure we were in the area for lunch and dinner. the beauty of nature there is awesome,the colors that will arrive in the fall will be speechless. i can't say enough about the onwers, they are remodling the place but even still it doesn't affect the visit. we would stay there agin with all hands up. oh yea they have a grill and tables in the back will soon adding firepit for use of the guest. THANKS FOR A GREAT STAY, WE WILL STAY THERE AGAIN. the owners HEATHER/GLEN are great. if you need anything they will help you in any way they can. HEATHER makes great muffins for breakfast.
MICHELE

Room Tip: even that it sits on the main road in and out of town you would never know it. it was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southernbell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Some of the rooms have been lovingly redone but some are not yet remodeled. We checked in late and had one of the older rooms. Everything was squeaky clean (so clean that I went LOOKING for something but couldn't find anything!) and the room was huge but there was old carpet and my asthma/allergies had already been acting up before we arrived. The next day, I let the owners know about my problem with the carpet and Heather immediately told me about an ionizer that she had due to a family member of hers with asthma. Glen got it out and ran it in the room for me and it worked wonders for me. The attention to making customers happy is what makes this hotel stand out. As others have already said, the muffins are great! I am giving a 3* for cleanliness only because of old carpets. I saw the new rooms and I would give those a 5* for cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLZplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

$90 for a double room in August - no issues with fitiing a family of four in. Room was clean and comfortable, with nice touches like a small fridge and coffee maker. Quiet despite being close to the road (not much traffic in the Lubec area....). Owners are super friendly and hosted a lively breakfast in the main office with fresh baked muffins and coffee. What more could you ask from a little roadside motel?!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKMtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A basic motel with caring owners and staff. Excellent value and very clean. Request a renovated room. Excellent high speed internet service. Good continental breakfast with homemade muffins. I definitely recommend the Eastland. The Roosevelt cottage on nearby Campobello Island is a must see.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here 8 days. Nothing real fancy, but met my needs in an area where there aren't many choices. Previous motel had no AC, and in August the humidity REQUIRES AC. Mini fridge, micro in my small room. Very small TV but it had plenty of stations. Super friendly and helpful proprietors. They told me they are slowly but surely rehabbing all the rooms, my hadn't been done yet. I wanted to do laundry but at $5/load, decided I could wait.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rehabbed ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubec hotels
2.5 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
2.7 mi away
Cohill's Inn
Cohill's Inn
#5 of 8 in Lubec
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Motel

Address: 385 County Rd, Rte 189, Lubec, ME 04652-3503
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $87 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
65 This newly renovated 20 unit motel and fully equipped cottage is only minutes from the famous West Quoddy Head Lighthouse, the most eastern point in the Continental US. We are the area's only motel and provide immaculate, comfortable, and well equipped rooms. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. You will wake every morning to a free continental breakfast that includes a freshly baked batch of homemade muffins, gourmet coffee and a fresh bowl of fruit, juice and yogurt! We are less than three miles to the county's best restaurants, breathtaking beaches, quaint gift shops and Campobello Island's Roosevelt International Park! We are your eco-adventure tourism destination and can provide you with directions to the greatest hiking trails, whale watching tours, and puffin excursions!We are now open through the winter and provide snowshoes for those wishing to trek our beautiful trails! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eastland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastland Motel Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing