We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food and excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Street Tavern & Inn

Water Street Tavern & Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baldwin, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at the Water Street Tavern.

The restaurant is simple. We were warmly welcomed.

The service was excellent. Our waitress was attentive and fulfilled our requests.

We started out sharing a Maine berry salad. I did not like everything in the salad so the waitress had it deconstructed with separate cups of craisins, wild maine blueberries, blue cheese, and sugared nuts so that we could have the salad just the way we wanted.

We both had blackened Haddock with sides of garlicky green beans and sweet potato fries. The fish was fresh and delicious and the portion was more than enough. So much so that we did not have room for dessert.

The prices were reasonable and the value was good.

We enjoyed this restaurant and would definitely return should we find ourselves in Lubec again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbarrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    87
    32
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
304 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good Lunch and View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had lunch here after visiting nearby Quoddy Head state park. The open deck on the waterfront caught my eye immediately. The day was warm and sunny and so we enjoyed eating our cheeseburgers out there facing yet another lighthouse in Maine. Service was excellent and the food was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food, nice, neighborhood atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I've been to Lubec twice and both times ended up eating dinner at the Water Street Tavern. The first time was in early May of 2013. That time of year, before the summer tourist season, there weren't a lot of other choices, but we were quite pleased with the meal and the service. I was with two other folks and I think we all had Haddock in different guises, but all were excellent. My next visit was in August, 2013, and though there were more dining options at this time we went back to Water Street. And, again, had a great meal. There were many more customers in the place that night than there had been in May. A couple of guys were playing guitars and singing, and a lot of locals were there enjoying the music and drink. There was a real, nice, neighborhood vibe in the place that night, and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hands Down can't miss place to stay and eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in the Tavern Suite with 5 people. Room had all amenities you'd want with a great view right on the water. However, the fold out couch was not comfy for odd man out. We had dinner and drinks in the restaurant right off the deck from the room. Food was great! We had steak and lobster. Both of which were terrific. We walked around a bit and was so good referred several other people here. Jim, the owner, is the most down to earth person you would ever met. He really cares and worth putting your vacation time in his hands. We visit this area 2-3 times a year and will stay here every time in future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly local place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had dinner here one night while staying in Lubec. Waitstaff is really friendly. They were out of a number of key items, and a bit confused on others (we were told they were out of lobster, which one member of our party planned to get, but as it turned out later, they were just out of the dishes that used lobster, not the whole steamed ones). Deck feels crowded by comparison to Frank's next door, but both are on the water. The menu offers American fare along with the local seafood options.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Tavern & Inn also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Water Street Tavern & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing