We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PROBLEMS!!! READ ALL REVIEWS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at the Wharf
Ranked #3 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis Junction, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“PROBLEMS!!! READ ALL REVIEWS!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

When making the reservations we asked if the hotel was handicap accessible and we were told that it was. Upon our arrival we found that our reservation was incorrect and that there was no record of our request as it had been entered incorrectly. Luckily they had a room available. We also discovered that the hotel was not handicap accessible. Instead, the hotel is located below the level of the road and can be reached via a steep incline/decline or a set of 17 wooden steps.
If space is available below, you can park your car and load/unload your luggage. If there are cars in the way then the only option is to use the stairs. If you are handicapped, and God forbid if you use a wheelchair or scooter which will result in an exciting ride to the water, do not come here. Also, we were required to pay our bill upfront upon registering! This has never happened to us before as we have always paid upon checkout.

Also, if you are a light sleeper then you will have problems since a working lobster facility is located directly below the rooms. As a result, the pumps that keep the lobsters alive in their tanks will keep you awake all night. It sounds as if a person in the next room is showering all night long! There is no A/C so the windows are open, which is nice when it is cool but there is a generator or motor on the dock that also ran all night on one of the nights we were there. With no A/C a person with breathing problems may have difficulty with the hot weather.

WIFI is not secure! Do not use WIFI! Cell service is problematic given the location of Lubec, no TV, which was fine for us but we are habitual weather watchers and felt in the dark on this when planning our activities.

The whale watching/tour boat, "Tarquin" did not have a working radio on our trip. Not safe. We were only made aware of this because the pilot told us and we were already well into the watch on the Bay of Fundy.

The owners were aloof but the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice. A large warehouse is available to park the car which was nice as the birds were very active!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    64
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
47
139
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Where to start? Keep in mind Lubec is an economically depressed area and I admire the owners for trying to do something positive...but come on. Here are the issues:

- arrival: the hostess was very friendly, welcomed us and showed us to our room.

- accommodations: our room was directly over the 'working' wharf. My wife and I were concerned about the noise from the wharf and asked for a different room...denied. We decided to tough it out.

- accommodations: no AC (may be common for Maine), no fan, no tv, no cell service (AT&T), no wi-fi. Walls were very thin...we heard everything going on in the office and hall. Flies in room and water pooling in one spot on our balcony and balcony rail (not sure of source...the puddles remained constant our entire stay).

- extra: When leaving the attached restaurant...we walked back through the office area to find the hostess had trapped a mouse with a coffee cup.

- Bottom line: we booked this place because of the Tripadvisor ratings. Be warned. This experience has me questioning the validity of the tripadvisor service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for three nights in one of the apartments here. We couldn't stop saying "wow!" as we walked through, and that feeling continued throughout our visit. The furnishings are beautiful, and the space is enormous. You can walk to everything in town, but if you would rather stay and enjoy the day watching the tides change, the restaurant is wonderful, too. What a gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Foxcroft, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I just spent an amazing weekend at The Inn at the Wharf. From the time we checked in, until the time we left, the staff in the Inn and the Restaurant were probably the most courteous, helpful group of people we have ever encountered in this type of setting. Our suite, OceanView, had just that.....a beautiful view of the Bay of Fundy. Our first night dinner was made extra special by our server, Lidiya. The food was excellent and so was her service, always with a smile. We decided right then that we would eat all of our meals there in the Inn. It was bittersweet when it was time to check out as we felt we were leaving friends we had known for some time. We will definitely return.....hopefully later this summer! Victor and Judy, keep up the good work. You have a real pearl here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights-great location on water, good restaurant, very nice people. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room that behind the shared deck lacks privacy if people are on the deck. I'd recommend requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarendon3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

As we drove into Lubec, my family got kind of quiet and gave me that look of where are you taking us! I told them just wait, it has great reviews! Boy were we all pleasantly surprised when we stepped into our two bedroom apartment, Seawatch. It was huge with two nice bedrooms and two full baths. It also has a large entry way, nice kitchen, eating area and sitting area. If you want to stay as far east as you can go in the US and right on the ocean then stop looking and book it! We highly recommend the apartment called Seawatch! Make sure you checkout the sunsets and the dramatic difference between high tide and low tide. There is about a 30' difference.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drock534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale, NH
Level Contributor
241 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The boat at the Inn on the Wharf goes out 3 times a day in high season and 1 p.m. ET in the shoulder season. Cost is $35 per person for 2 hours with a friendly, knowledgeable captain. We went out with one other couple, like a rivate tour. Saw plenty of wildlife and got great pictures of the lighthouses and islands. Well worth the price which is very cheap compared to other boat trips in the area. Clean, modern boat.

Room Tip: http://www.theinnonthewharf.com/whale-watching-and-waterfront.html
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MeaganLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
18.4 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
20.5 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
13.6 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
16.4 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Wharf

Property: The Inn at the Wharf
Address: 69 Johnson St, Lubec, ME 04652-1034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an oceanfront lifestyle and lodging in an elegantly renovated 100 year old sardine factory in Lubec, Maine. The Inn at the Wharf offers stunning ocean views and its own wharf. Each suite includes a bedroom, bath and a large sitting area, and opens to a large gathering room, kitchen and deck. Each oceanfront apartment includes two bedrooms, two baths, den, kitchen, dining and living areas, each with its own deck and complete laundry facilities. Free indoor secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at the Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Wharf Hotel Lubec
The Inn At The Wharf Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing