We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views and great hiking!”

Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spanning more than 481 acres, this scenic park offers hikers breathtaking trails that follow along rock cliffs rising 80 feet above the ocean.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome views and great hiking!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A very remote park, Quoddy Head offers great (and intense) hiking for those who love the outdoors. Spectacular wildlife and just an overall wonderful adventurous retreat. I am very glad I had the opportunity to experience it and would recommend it to anyone staying in Lubec or Machias, ME.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SkaySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    33
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great place with a lot of history behind it. The hiking trails are a lot of fun and provide some great views for pictures. I've been there many times and never get tired of it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“A trip to Quoddy must be on your bucket list!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My best friend and I decided to embark upon a trip we have talked about for years: driving to Maine (from New Mexico) without a map - specifically to the US' easternmost point, Quoddy Head State Park. Our journey was absolutely incredible! We noticed when we got into our car after the first pit stop for gas / coffee in Maine that everyone working there seemed to be very relaxed, like they just got blasted with serenity or something. The same held true for all the people we met in Maine. Upon entering Maine, fortunately, we happened to see out of the corner of our eye that Quoddy Head State Park was exit 182A. Oddly, once there, there were no signs to direct us to Quoddy, and ended up being about another 2 hours from that exit anyway (maybe we read the exit wrong, not sure?). We arrived at the last sprig of daylight. The park / lighthouse was all closed up, but at least we got to take pictures of the incredible views out to the atlantic and listen to the horns going out to sea, as well as sit on the legendary park bench. We also shot a firework off into the ocean, putting some ashes of our other best friend that passed last year this time. Quoddy is a must for anyone. A great excuse to take a trip!!! :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank QuoddyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun hiking”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We hiked the coast trail and the inner trails. Great views. Trails could be tough for kids and those with physical limitations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillInEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable scenery.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The trails are very easy to walk aside from maybe some muddy areas but the views they afford the person are well worth it! Some of the viewpoints are literally breathtaking...if you look down! Really really beautiful place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSobkowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quoddy Head State Park also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Quoddy Head State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing